The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jun 04, 2008, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member

PSK or not? - NCAA

NCAA: 4/8 @ B-48. During A1’s punt B1 clipped A2 at the B-41. A3 first touches the ball at the B-8 and B2 recovers the ball at the B-3 and runs to the A-4 where he fumbles the ball into the goal line pylon.

This one caused some debate, so of course I need to run by y'all before the next study session...
Old Wed Jun 04, 2008, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member

OK, I'm no rules expert, but I'll take a stab at it.

The fumble into the pylon gives a Touchback to A. Since B didn't end the down with the ball, it can't be PSK as that is one of the five requirements for PSK.
If A accept the penalty, the illegal touching dissapears.
Since it isn't PSK, the penalty is administered from the previous spot.
1/10 for A at B's 33.
Old Wed Jun 04, 2008, 07:45pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
NCAA: 4/8 @ B-48. During A1’s punt B1 clipped A2 at the B-41. A3 first touches the ball at the B-8 and B2 recovers the ball at the B-3 and runs to the A-4 where he fumbles the ball into the goal line pylon.

This one caused some debate, so of course I need to run by y'all before the next study session...
CANADIAN RULING:

Assuming that "during A1's punt" means that the ball is in the air...

This is blocking from the rear, and while the ball is in the air, it is 15 yards from the Point of Possession. The PP is the B-3 (Team B). The fumble by B doesn't give A the ball, so A will accept the foul and end up with: B 1D/10 @ B1½.
Old Wed Jun 04, 2008, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by With_Two_Flakes
OK, I'm no rules expert, but I'll take a stab at it.