The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 25, 2008, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty
If an airborne player jumps up in the endzone during a kicking play and catches the ball:
a) He is pushed (so-called force-out) and lands on the one yard line?
b) He is held and carried by an opponent to the one yard line?

In a) it must obviously be team Bs ball on the one yard line, 1. and 10.
Not so fast. You actually have KCI in both cases. The player must be given the unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick. So, if he's airborne and has the ball in his grasp meaning NOT muffed (both cases) any contact by A before the B player comes in contact with the ground (meaning he didn't "complete" the catch) you have KCI.

I happened to see this one on a training film put out by rulebooks.com. The TV commentators obviously were calling this call a "terrrible call" and the BJ nailed it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 25, 2008, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Hmmm, good point (it's offseason, that's my excuse for not thinking of KCI:-). But let's say it's an interception, what then?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty
Hmmm, good point (it's offseason, that's my excuse for not thinking of KCI:-). But let's say it's an interception, what then?
REPLY: If it's an interception, the first play will result in it being B's ball, 1-10 at B's 1. That's not only where he completed the catch, but is also the extent of his forward progress. For the second play, I would rule it a TB. NCAA rule 4-1-3p tells you that the ball is dead when an airborne pass receiver (of either team) is held and subsequently carried preventing him from returning to the ground.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 29
Fed rules: Doesn't make any difference what happens if the ball breaks the plane of the goal line before all of this other stuff happens. Ball dead, touchback. You might have a dead ball PF if the action on the receiver was flagrant.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
A reminder, in Fed Ball: It's where the ball is, not the player, that counts. The ball could be caught and not break the plane of the GL even though the feet of R are in the EZ. So, we may have a live ball. Let's say R decides to "down" the ball by placing his knee in the EZ. The ball would be placed where it was when this occurred, just outside the GL. If the ball had already broken the plane, the BJ blows it dead immediately and there is no need to "down" the ball.

BJ needs to be in position to make this call. Remember, the GOAL LINE is the most important line on the field! Get there!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
....
Let's say R decides to "down" the ball by placing his knee in the EZ. The ball would be placed where it was when this occurred, just outside the GL. ...
We all know there is this age old saying, "no cheap safetys" but this action you are describing could really be a safety. The ball has to be completely in the field of play to prevent this.
Hopfully you can sell momentum but be vigilant out there.. the result of the play you call could change in a heartbeat.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 01:18pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
We all know there is this age old saying, "no cheap safetys" but this action you are describing could really be a safety. The ball has to be completely in the field of play to prevent this.
Hopfully you can sell momentum but be vigilant out there.. the result of the play you call could change in a heartbeat.
The only way to have a cheap safety would be for the catch to be complete outside the goal, then for the player to pull the ball into the EZ when taking a knee.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 25, 2008, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
The player must be given the unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick. So, if he's airborne and has the ball in his grasp meaning NOT muffed (both cases) any contact by A before the B player comes in contact with the ground (meaning he didn't "complete" the catch) you have KCI.
So you can't stop his forward progress in the air because he's not a runner yet? He has to be allowed whatever distance he gets horizontally before the first foot comes down?

If he signaled for a fair catch, is the spot where he got the ball in his grasp, or where it was when he touched the ground?

Robert
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
holding in the endzone yankeesfan Football 17 Tue Oct 24, 2006 03:47pm
Cameras in the endzone 9redskin4 Football 4 Mon Sep 19, 2005 07:26pm
Holding in the endzone IAUMP Football 8 Mon Jun 27, 2005 07:19am
Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter SDREGIIBB Basketball 8 Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm
Endzone fumble Tom Cook Football 3 Wed Mar 01, 2000 05:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1