The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2007, 02:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Were they correct in making that call from the booth? Can that actually be reviewed.

Did the referee throw a flag for intentional grounding? Did any official on the field throw a sideline interference penalty on that play?

This whole thing confused me, and without tivo I'm going crazy trying to find the exact sequence of events.

Did they enforce that penalty from the previous spot, or the succeeding spot?

The fact that the asshat on the sideline did or didn't touch the ball is irrelevant. They clearly interfered with a live ball by just having so many people on the sideline.

Hell, the following play, Texas' defensive coordinator, Duane Akina, was on the field inside the 20 barking at the referee. I'm a Texas fan and was irritated that the white hat didn't flag him for another unsportsmanlike.
__________________
Currently operating without a signature.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2007, 05:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
We had a very brief thread on this over on the basketball forum. Someone posted the following and I was interested in your take. I do NOT know the football rules. When it comes to that sport, I'm just a fan (and not of either team that was involved in this game).

Quote:
Originally Posted by larryr
According to the NCAA rules which I just downloaded, it might not have mattered whether the guy touched the ball and it's too bad the on-air talent didn't discuss the question:

FR-124 RULE 9.2 / CONDUCT OF PLAYERS AND OTHERS SUBJECT TO RULES
be disqualified [S47]. If a player or an identified squad
member in uniform commits two unsportsmanlike fouls in
the same game, he shall be disqualified.

b. Other prohibited acts include:
1. During the game, coaches, substitutes and authorized attendants in
the team area shall not be on the field of play or outside the 25-yard
lines without permission from the referee unless legally entering or
leaving the field (Exceptions: Rules 1-2-4-g and 3-3-8-c). Team area
personnel who are outside the team area and who have involvement
or impact on live-ball play are subject to penalty under Rule 9-1-4-
a....[omitted stuff]

PENALTY—Dead-ball foul. 15 yards [S7, S27] from the succeeding
spot. Flagrant offenders, if players or substitutes, shall be
disqualified [S47].


To me this doesn't make it clear which team would have had possession after enforcement of the penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2007, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
The play: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSqRgzjl2m8

Penalty was enforced from previous spot. Appears crew got 2 different fouls and penalties confused and the enforcement reflected a "blend", i.e. 1 certain foul but with the enforcement that is mandated for the other foul.

If the determination was that the ball or other players were interfered with, then the R can enforce any penalty he deems equitable. If he thinks it is equitable to enforce from prev spot. 1/2 the distance, but no replay of down, so be it. I do not think that is what he was doing though.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
The play: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSqRgzjl2m8

Penalty was enforced from previous spot. Appears crew got 2 different fouls and penalties confused and the enforcement reflected a "blend", i.e. 1 certain foul but with the enforcement that is mandated for the other foul.

If the determination was that the ball or other players were interfered with, then the R can enforce any penalty he deems equitable. If he thinks it is equitable to enforce from prev spot. 1/2 the distance, but no replay of down, so be it. I do not think that is what he was doing though.
Under what NCAA provision was that play reviewable?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Under what NCAA provision was that play reviewable?
12-3-2-g and 12-3-3-j
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 02:35pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So it's possible next year we could see a review after every play just to make sure there wasn't a penalty on the play? I mean, where will this stop?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 05:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch
So it's possible next year we could see a review after every play just to make sure there wasn't a penalty on the play? I mean, where will this stop?
And maybe they could get the e-flat trumpet in the band for being off key?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
12-3-2-g and 12-3-3-j
The first is not applicable since there was no dispute that the ball was a backward pass.

The second is a gross misuse of instant replay since the officials on the field made no call on any such infraction.

Using instant replay to go on a fishing expedition is an insult to the fans,coaches and players.

Instant replay is ruining the game and is a travesty.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
The first is not applicable since there was no dispute that the ball was a backward pass.

The second is a gross misuse of instant replay since the officials on the field made no call on any such infraction.

Using instant replay to go on a fishing expedition is an insult to the fans,coaches and players.

Instant replay is ruining the game and is a travesty.
How can you say there was no dispute, the R flagged it initially as IG? Are you even a football official?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 29, 2007, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Whether he touched the ball or not, the Texas sideline should have been flagged. I don't think you can let the wing official off the hook on this one for that reason. At the start of the game, this should have been addressed and, if necessary addressed again soon thereafter.

This is a sideline control issue more than whether the ball was touched or not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holiday Wishes SanDiegoSteve Baseball 34 Wed Dec 26, 2007 09:02am
Texas vs Texas Tech Play carldog Basketball 7 Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm
Jewish Holiday? JRutledge Football 6 Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:37am
Holiday Bowl ABoselli Football 5 Mon Dec 30, 2002 02:06pm
Texas/Texas Tech officials johnSandlin Basketball 4 Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1