We had a very brief thread on this over on the basketball forum. Someone posted the following and I was interested in your take. I do NOT know the football rules. When it comes to that sport, I'm just a fan (and not of either team that was involved in this game).
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryr
According to the NCAA rules which I just downloaded, it might not have mattered whether the guy touched the ball and it's too bad the on-air talent didn't discuss the question:
FR-124 RULE 9.2 / CONDUCT OF PLAYERS AND OTHERS SUBJECT TO RULES
be disqualified [S47]. If a player or an identified squad
member in uniform commits two unsportsmanlike fouls in
the same game, he shall be disqualified.
b. Other prohibited acts include:
1. During the game, coaches, substitutes and authorized attendants in
the team area shall not be on the field of play or outside the 25-yard
lines without permission from the referee unless legally entering or
leaving the field (Exceptions: Rules 1-2-4-g and 3-3-8-c). Team area
personnel who are outside the team area and who have involvement
or impact on live-ball play are subject to penalty under Rule 9-1-4-
a....[omitted stuff]
PENALTY—Dead-ball foul. 15 yards [S7, S27] from the succeeding
spot. Flagrant offenders, if players or substitutes, shall be
disqualified [S47].
To me this doesn't make it clear which team would have had possession after enforcement of the penalty.
|