The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 46
I was at the game---North Dakota State University at Minnesota. Minnesota kick-off went into the endzone. NDSU receiver caught and just stood there and made no effort to leave the endzone. He then casually approached the nearest official on the sideline closest to him (not the referee) and tossed the ball to him. This official (who is not responsible for the endzone) dropped his flag for the potential illegal forward pass and blew the play dead. The referee (who is responsible for the endzone) huddled the officials together and decided to call a touchback. The explanation that was given was that the receiver had "given himself up" and had no intention of returning the kick, however, he did not kneel at any time. Apparently (help us out here TXMike or other NCAA rule guys) the NCAA rule does not require the kneel down, but can and will award a touchback if the player has basically given up and it is evident that the player does not intend to come out of the endzone---referee covering the play was just "patient".

This was the explanation given to both coaches and the Minnesota coach had no issues with it.

On a side note--NDSU won the game 27-21 and half of the 60,000 people in the Metrodome were NDSU fans--it was awesome to be a part of. Div 1-AA transitional (not eligible for playoffs, but ranked #1) school beats one of the big boys (not so big this year, but we'll take it)--by the way, the Bison also beat D-1A Central Michigan as well.

Bisonlj--you should have been there, as you can tell by my screen name (and I can tell by yours) it was a very proud day to be from North Dakota. We both know who phansen is and he was pretty proud of his alma mater as well (understatement).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDRef
Bisonlj--you should have been there, as you can tell by my screen name (and I can tell by yours) it was a very proud day to be from North Dakota. We both know who phansen is and he was pretty proud of his alma mater as well (understatement).
Thanks for the explanation. I wondered if there was some NCAA rule that was applied to give them a touchback. I still don't know if it could be considered a safety since it was the kick that was the force that put it there. If he started running and was tackled in the end zone, would that not also be a TB?

I wish I was at the game! I live in Indy and with games on Friday nights it's not easy to get up there Saturday (last week was round 1 of playoffs as well). I did watch it on the Big 10 Network with a fellow Bison though. We also were at the game last year where they beat Ball State. With today's big win they are now 18-1 the past 2 years and 3-1 against I-A teams. The only loss was last year at Minnesota 10-9 and they really should have won that game. I hope Coach Bohl is able to stick around to lead the team in the playoffs next year in their first year of eligibilit but I bet he'll be a hot prospect for some mid-major or smaller BCS schools this year.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 09:53pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj
K kicks off to start the second half and R80 catches it 5 yards deep in the end zone. Another player from R steps in front of him to keep him from running it out. R80 never takes a knee and the covering official doesn't blow the play dead. R80 then flips the ball foward to the official who jumps out of the way because it is still a live ball. The ball is recovered by R at the 3 yard line as the official throws a flag for an illegal forward pass.
CANADIAN RULING:

As soon as R80 catches the ball in the EZ, the clock starts. We don't have a touchback, so we don't have that case where the clock starts only when the returner crosses into the field of play. (This case may be an NFL-only thing, though.)

R80's flip forward is an offside pass subject to penalty: this act is flagged and the spot of the origin of the offside pass must be known: most officials will mark that spot with the flag, or use a mental note. This spot is the EZ. When R recovers at the 3, the play is dead.

The offside pass is not defined as a foul, but it does restrict R from legally advancing the ball

K's option:
  • decline the offside pass, and it is R 1D/10 @ R-3
  • accept the offside pass, and the result of the play is like the play ended at the point of origin of the offside pass, which is why the covering official needs to know that spot. A kickoff that goes into the EZ and is recovered in the EZ and goes dead in the EZ without getting out of the EZ is the infamous rouge: single point for K, then R 1D/10 @ R-35.
The fact that the offside pass (subject to penalty) is not defined as a foul means that there is not "one more play" if times runs out during this play, as there is with all other reasons for a flag to be thrown. So if K is losing by a point, or the game is tied, K can tie the game, or win the game, respectively, if this situation were to happen.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 27, 2007, 10:08pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDRef
I was at the game---North Dakota State University at Minnesota. Minnesota kick-off went into the endzone. NDSU receiver caught and just stood there and made no effort to leave the endzone. He then casually approached the nearest official on the sideline closest to him (not the referee) and tossed the ball to him. This official (who is not responsible for the endzone) dropped his flag for the potential illegal forward pass and blew the play dead. The referee (who is responsible for the endzone) huddled the officials together and decided to call a touchback. The explanation that was given was that the receiver had "given himself up" and had no intention of returning the kick, however, he did not kneel at any time. Apparently (help us out here TXMike or other NCAA rule guys) the NCAA rule does not require the kneel down, but can and will award a touchback if the player has basically given up and it is evident that the player does not intend to come out of the endzone---referee covering the play was just "patient".

This was the explanation given to both coaches and the Minnesota coach had no issues with it.
I found a AR which would support the above red/bold statement.
Part of AR 8-6-1-II says "However, if in the judgment of the official there is perceptible time during which the team B player made no attempt to advance after the play (interception in this AR), declaring a touchback is justified.

Looks like the officials new the rulebook pretty dang good!!! Now all of us working NCAA will get this one right in the future.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Forward Pass After Change of Possession in End Zone TussAgee11 Football 5 Thu Oct 18, 2007 08:55am
Illegal Forward Pass? nelson_28602 Football 5 Wed Sep 20, 2006 01:13pm
Illegal forward pass goldcoastump Football 2 Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:01pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
ILLEGAL FORWARD PASS bobgootee Football 9 Mon Nov 12, 2001 02:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1