The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewGaRef
Had this situation Saturday at an 8th grade game. 1st and 10 on A's 35. A has two men in motion at the snap. A20 is tackled 5 yards behind the line of scrimmage. WH indicates that since the foul occurred at the snap, the penalty would be five yards from the previous spot. I asked him does this fit into the All-but-one category, he indicated no. What's the correct administration of this penalty? Thanks.
Think about this one: if illegal motion were administered as 3-and-1 (all but one) rather than as a foul occurring with the snap, where would you say the foul occurred?? This is why all the fouls relating to requirements to put the ball in play have to relate to the spot from which the ball was (to be) put in play.

BTW, it's different in Rugby Union. If the ball comes out of a scrum here, and a player had gone offside way over yonder, it's where the player broke the offside line that the penalty is from, which can result in the spot's moving laterally a long way.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 09:54pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Think about this one: if illegal motion were administered as 3-and-1 (all but one) rather than as a foul occurring with the snap, where would you say the foul occurred?? This is why all the fouls relating to requirements to put the ball in play have to relate to the spot from which the ball was (to be) put in play.

BTW, it's different in Rugby Union. If the ball comes out of a scrum here, and a player had gone offside way over yonder, it's where the player broke the offside line that the penalty is from, which can result in the spot's moving laterally a long way.

Robert
Not all fouls simultaneous with the snap occur at the LOS. An illegal motion foul could easy occur several yards behind the LOS. Same for an illegal shift, if it were backs, or an illegal substitution where the player didn't get off the field and was behind his teams LOS. I get your point though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
Not all fouls simultaneous with the snap occur at the LOS. An illegal motion foul could easy occur several yards behind the LOS. Same for an illegal shift, if it were backs, or an illegal substitution where the player didn't get off the field and was behind his teams LOS. I get your point though.
Get it? You just stated it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT Administration justacoach Basketball 7 Mon Dec 15, 2003 02:23pm
Correct Administration sm_bbcoach Football 5 Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:43am
administration of a T Stan Basketball 12 Fri Jan 17, 2003 04:01pm
T administration question MOFFICIAL Basketball 2 Sat Dec 29, 2001 08:08pm
FT Administration BktBallRef Basketball 16 Tue Mar 20, 2001 11:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1