![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I have in instances where they put 3 RB"s in the backfield then pull the TE and put him in motion. I warned the coach first that he needed 7 on the line at the time of the snap. Three plays later he does it again then I threw it. He says the officials last week told him it was ok. But I tried to be more preventative first. My rule of thumb for that age group is warn first then if it's obvious it's drawn illegal and not simply a matter of the WR not checking if their on the line then throw it. Problem is when they do start to see it in MS then they don't understand because it hadn't been called in 4 years.
Quote:
-----------TE-T-G-C-G-T---------- -------------------QB------------- ----------------RB-RB-RB---------- -------------------RB-------------- |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I sure would not call it without talking to the coach and making sure he knew why it was wrong. So I guess the answer is yes we would have run at least one flagless play from that formation with 10 year olds. |
|
|||
|
I had one coach of this age group who had 3 RB's then set his TE in motion where the C snappped the ball right before he got to the QB. I told the coach by putting that TE in motion he was leaving his line short. I do give them a lot of leeway but I call really obvious stuff such as this. He told me that in their league they onley need 6 on the line. I asked for it to be shown to me before they ran it again, then I waved that one off. But yes I did give them a freebie. If they come out like this
-----------------TE-T-G-C-G-T--------------- ----WR-----------------QB------------WR---- --------------------RB------RB--------------- or -----------------T-G-C-G-T-TE--------------- ---WR---------------QB---------------------- ---------WR---------------------------------- -----------------RB------RB------------------ I let them go. The 2nd one I'll even let go in MS a few times then tell then to ask if they're on the line (if we have coverage on that side). I'm more likely to call it at MS if the both WR's are on the same level. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Robert |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
I think that in PeeWee or even 7th grade ball, if you have an illegal formation because some poor kid was supposed to be on the line, and wasn't, tell the coach and let it go. No advantage is being gained here. 7th grade safeties are not reading formations to determine coverages or anything like that.
But if the IF is because they truly have too many players lined up behind the QB, or took an end off the line and sent him in motion, you have to flag it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Stupid Question | wondercoolguy | Football | 1 | Sun Sep 12, 2004 03:40pm |
| Stupid Question... | thumpferee | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 18, 2004 01:17pm |
| Stupid question. | sloth | Football | 6 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 05:47pm |
| Stupid question | CDcoach | Baseball | 6 | Sat May 03, 2003 06:34pm |
| Stupid Question | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 8 | Sun May 12, 2002 01:06pm |