The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Aug 29, 2003, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member

I know this is probably going to sound pretty stupid (please bear with me I'm fairly new at this)> We had an instance in a freshman game where on of the officals threw a flag on a block in the back on a scrimmage kick. Apparently the gunner pushed the defender (blocker) in the back. I wasn't convinced this was a foul and neither was the referee (he ended up calling illegal use of the hands).

Then in an association meeting I brought this up during a quiz we were going over (there was a question about a player from the kicking team going low to bust up a wedge that the runner was behind). The response that I recieved was that the same restrictions apply to the offense as the defense witht he exception of the ball carrier and in case of a loose ball.

This really confused me. I though that as long as the action was not flagrent or a personal foul, that defensive player could push from behind or go low on a blocker as long as it was in an honest effort to get to the ball carrer (not backside/away from the play sort of action).

I'm very confused can anyone help me see how to call this from now on? What are y'alls thoughts? I'm going to go back over the federation books and try to sort of some of these questions, but input here would be great as well.

Jim
Old Fri Aug 29, 2003, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by sloth
I know this is probably going to sound pretty stupid (please bear with me I'm fairly new at this)> We had an instance in a freshman game where on of the officals threw a flag on a block in the back on a scrimmage kick. Apparently the gunner pushed the defender (blocker) in the back. I wasn't convinced this was a foul and neither was the referee (he ended up calling illegal use of the hands).