The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 01:10pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Your response may be clear ... but it's still wrong. It's not illegal for B to leave the field and return during a play.
Actually it would be illegal if B intentionally left and returned. No player can do that. The problem is that B did not come back into play.

NF Rule 9-6-1 (I am not sure about the NCAA Rule, you are from Texas. )

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Actually it would be illegal if B intentionally left and returned. No player can do that. The problem is that B did not come back into play.

NF Rule 9-6-1 (I am not sure about the NCAA Rule, you are from Texas. )

Peace
This may be a matter of interpretation ... but a defensive player who has unintentionally contacted the sideline, or was forced slightly wide should be significantly different than a player who actually leaves the field (as in CanadaRef's scenario).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 01:44pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
This may be a matter of interpretation ... but a defensive player who has unintentionally contacted the sideline, or was forced slightly wide should be significantly different than a player who actually leaves the field (as in CanadaRef's scenario).
It is not a matter of interpretation, I am telling you what the rule says. And it is never illegal to just run out of bounds. You do not throw the flag until they come back in after you have determined they went out of bounds intentionally.

So if a player runs out of bounds, I do not see any rule that allows them to be cheap shot because they might potentially foul. B has not done anything in this scenario that would be IP yet. Now if they come back in that is another story all together.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Whether you or I are right about the ability for B to return in a situation as described in the OP, both of us agree that B's existence out of bounds doesn't give A the right to BIB or PF him, and that you definitely have a foul on A on this play.

Note - I've reread the relevant sections of the NCAA book, and can find no reference at all to B or R players who have left the field, other than those who have been replaced or left the field before the play starts.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike

Last edited by MD Longhorn; Wed Oct 03, 2007 at 02:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 02:04pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Whether you or I are right about the ability for B to return in a situation as described in the OP, both of us agree that B's existence out of bounds doesn't give A the right to BIB or PF him, and that you definitely have a foul on A on this play.
I was not debating the right of B to come back into the game. That would be based on if the covering official thinks. I am just saying B has not fouled yet by rule.

I do agree with the rest of what you are saying.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
You are still missing the point. B can go out of bounds and return legally anytime before a change of team possession. Rule 9-6-1 specifically refers to A & K.

The penalty for IP would be against A if he steps on the sidelines while making the illegal block and then his next step is in-bounds. This would be a multiple foul against A and I'm sure B would take the 15-yard IP rather than the 10-yard BIB.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 81
Arrow NFHS Rule 9 Sec 6

NFHS Rule 9 Sec. 6 Art. 1... Prior to a change of possession, or when there is no change of possession, no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent. If a player is blocked out of bounds by an opponent and returns inbounds during the down, he shall return at the first opportunity.

NFHS Rule 9 Sec. 6 Art. 2... During the down, no player shall intentionally go out of bounds and return.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2007, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
I humbly stand corrected on the issue of B intentionally go OB and coming back in. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correcting a Player Foul bobref1 Basketball 8 Mon Feb 26, 2007 03:07pm
Player Control foul Rizzo21 Basketball 9 Tue Jul 26, 2005 12:57am
non player foul Cordileran Football 1 Tue Oct 07, 2003 11:34pm
player control foul, or not? Marty Rogers Basketball 17 Sat Oct 26, 2002 11:49am
Player Control Foul DrC. Basketball 1 Mon Feb 07, 2000 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1