![]() |
|
|
|||
Kill the Punter
What do you think?
K lines up in punt formation. K1 (the punter) accepts the snap and punts the ball. After he punts his leg returns to the ground and takes a couple steps downfield while the ball is still in the air heading to R's receiver. R1 is lined up as a defensive end. He charges to try and block the punt. Knowing that he will not get to the punt he lays off and runs behind the punter. He then circles around and blocks the punter in the front and above the waist. The punter never saw him coming and is flattened. The block occurs approx 8 yards behind the LOS at K's 20. Questions 1. Is there a foul on this play? 2. If yes, what is the foul? Why? 3. If yes, what is the enforcement? 4. If no, why? |
|
|||
Quote:
Where was the ball when all this was taking place? If the punter was completely out of the play, I would say you could easily have a foul. If you have a foul then it is a personal foul and it would be 15 yards from the end of the run or a spot foul behind the end of the run (which ever hurts the most). There could be an argument that this was not a foul if you feel the punter was a potential blocker and that would be based on where the ball was at the time of the block. The bottom line is you cannot just hit someone that is completely out of the play. It was a few years ago, but this was a POE at one time for hitting players not directly involved in the play. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Would your opinions change if this same situation did not include the punter, but a player in the wall of the punt formation?
How do you explain to a coach that this player was out of the play, when he is IN FRONT of the play and the last defender on a return? |
|
|||
Quote:
A tactic I sometimes used to see in the NFL and minor league adult football -- though I haven't noticed it in decades -- on kickoffs was for team R to send multiple blockers against the kicker-off. Obviously they didn't consider him a great tackling threat, it was just an attempt to injure or intimidate the smallest player on the field, if he was a specialist. Like the Chi. Lions (NSFL) sending a wave of 3 to blast the kicker ASAP after kicking off. I always thought the officials should make a judgement that this did not help the runback and to call UR, but they never did. Yet I don't see that any more. NCAA adopted a rule that effectively allowed the maker of a free kick to wimp out of the play, but the problem wasn't particular to the NCAA. Robert |
|
|||
Is the punter blind? He was hit from the front and never saw it coming? I've got no foul. I don't consider him out of the play as the ball can still be returned. And, he is no longer a kicker when the contact happened.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
I know that this is likely going to answer your question, but you must understand that experience sometimes shapes how we view these things. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
HTBT, but I am thinking no foul cuz R is returning the ball back towards the punter who is a defensive player now, and is the last line of defense for saving a TD on the return. You said he circled around and hit him from the front and above the waist so the kicker should have been able to see him. It wasn't even a side hit, which would be more suspect to a PF.
BUT like I said you'd HTBT to know all the circumstances of how it went down. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
JRutledge,
The original post says that Quote:
I agree, if that contact occurs during the return its enforced with B retaining possession. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kill Throw-in | wfd21 | Basketball | 21 | Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:07pm |
Kill the Play or Not? | Fedex | Football | 9 | Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:05pm |
Catcher hurt......do you kill the play? | JRutledge | Baseball | 63 | Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:18pm |
Roughing the Punter | slippery rock | Football | 8 | Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:37pm |
Roughing the punter | jdkagw | Football | 19 | Fri Jun 28, 2002 11:01pm |