The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 25, 2007, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
http://www.safootballchapter.us/VID/DefPF.WMV

This is the play on the NCAA tape. I still don't see the personal foul
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2007, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
http://www.safootballchapter.us/VID/DefPF.WMV

This is the play on the NCAA tape. I still don't see the personal foul
REPLY: I don't either. The defender was in a direct line between the runner and the tackler. And it was clear that after the push, he continued on a path to the runner. He wasn't just hitting the blocker to hit him. What was he supposed to do--ask the blocker to move?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2007, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Bob, That is the argument I had with our local state interpreter. His point was, regardless of the intent, etc. that this is illegal use of the hands on the defense for contacting a receiver. Let's just say we agreed to disagree on how this play should be treated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
not exactly the same but close

case book 9.2.3 c read the rulings here. While not the same exact play, I would contend that the OP play would allow the defense even greater latitude. A can be blocked by B behind the NZ. This is from 2006 case book, as I haven't gotten the new ones yet, I have been assured that they are in the mail however.
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MSN
Posts: 224
In Fed., pass interference restrictions are beyond the LOS, not behind. If the neither the pass nor the receiver are beyond the LOS, it's a legal play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this legal? TravelinMan Basketball 11 Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:28pm
Is this legal? LDUB Baseball 2 Sat May 08, 2004 09:28pm
Legal? Erik Basketball 22 Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:46am
legal or not xxssmen Basketball 25 Sat Mar 13, 2004 02:59am
Is this legal? FBFAN Football 4 Mon Oct 14, 2002 01:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1