![]() |
|
|
|||
what is the basis
Warren,
What is the basis for illegal use of hands? What difference does it make if the ball is in the air?
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
We reviewed this play on tape from a HS game last year. According to the state interpreter, this should have been called illegal use of the hands. I have a lot of trouble with that because it seemed to me to logically be a legal play. B was just trying to get to the ball carrier and I'm sure he did not look to see if it was a guard or a back in his way.
By rule, since A2 was a receiver and not a potential blocker, it's illegal. I don't like it. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Because if the ball is in the air toward A2 he is obviously not a potential blocker. If B is just trying to get past A2 and contacts him then I don't have anything. If the contact by B is intentional then he risks a foul if A2 is not trying to be a blocker. If A2 is looking to catch a pass and is behind the neutral zone then he can't be interfered with but he can be contacted illegally. In this case it was a push so holding is not the answer. Illegal use of hands is the only call left.
|
|
|||
Quote:
And I've posted in the past on this one, trying to find some consensus with which to make an argument either way. And even here there are a variety of interpretations in between. |
|
|||
REPLY: Even if the ball is in the air, I see nothing wrong with the contact since the defender is allowed to use his hands to contact an opponent above the waist in the back when attempting to catch or recover a loose ball that he can legally possess. (Federation rule 10-3-5c) This is OK as long as the contact is not DPI...and this clearly isn't.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Even in the original, I'm not understanding why this is legal before the pass is thrown. Since 9.2.3d makes no reference to where the receiver is located relative to the LOS, and 2.3.5b explicitly excludes illegal use of the hands as a defense against pushing, pulling, or warding off an opponent, how is the original situation legal?
Let's change this up a bit. Would this change your ruling? Receiver A2 runs an out pattern (beyond the line of scrimmage) as a potential receiver and QB A1 is also rolling to the right. Defensive player B1 is heading for the QB. As receiver A2 crosses in front of him while A2 is looking back to the QB, B1 pushes A2 out of his way so he can continue on his path to A1. Now the receiver is beyond the line. A pass is not yet thrown. Is this illegal use of the hands? |
|
|||
since when
Granted I don't have my books with me. However, I don't recall any language in the rulebook that says that A must be a potential blocker before B can push them out of the way to get the ball. In the original situation, if the ball is in the air and the contact by B is not below the waist nor otherwise a personal foul, it is legal. There is no DPI behind the LOS and unless it is leading with the head, I probably don't have anything if A2 gets knocked down....I just don't see where anyone can interpret this play as illegal, for any reason, at least not from the Original Post....IMHO
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is this legal? | TravelinMan | Basketball | 11 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:28pm |
Is this legal? | LDUB | Baseball | 2 | Sat May 08, 2004 09:28pm |
Legal? | Erik | Basketball | 22 | Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:46am |
legal or not | xxssmen | Basketball | 25 | Sat Mar 13, 2004 02:59am |
Is this legal? | FBFAN | Football | 4 | Mon Oct 14, 2002 01:27pm |