![]() |
|
|
|||
I'm not an NCAA official but I don't think you have it right for NF rules. A new series is awarded only after all actions during that down per 5-1-2 are taken into account. In this case B was not awarded a new series.
3-4-2a The clock shall start with the ready-for-play signal for other than a free-kick if the clock was stopped: For an official’s time-out, other than when B is awarded a new series or either team is awarded a new series following a legal kick. 5-1-2b A new series of downs is awarded: After a fourth down, a new series of downs shall be awarded only after considering the effect of any act during the down, except a non-player or unsportsmanlike foul. There is, however, a minor difference between NCAA and NF rules for awarding untimed downs. Your defensive facemask penalty would not extend the period using NCAA rules but would probably result in an untimed down under NF rules. |
|
|||
WK - good points you raise. This is why I asked the question. I'm certain I have been enforcing it the way you are saying but the reason I thought it was incorrect is because even in college you are NOT actually awarding B a first down, but the interpretation is you would be hadn't a foul occurred, and therefore, start on the snap.
I realize the untimed down rule would allow the extra down any way but it wouldn't come into play if the clock were to start on the snap. Perhaps I'm reading to much into 3-4-2-b-3. |
|
|||
The clock was stopped after this play because there was a foul - that's the key here. It might also have been stopped after the play for other reasons (to award a first down to either A or B depending on the results of the play) but the situation never got that far. The clock was stopped because a flag was on the ground.
After the penalty is administered, the clock is started on the ready because the action that stopped the clock was to administer a penalty and the action that caused the down to end (A being tacked in bounds) would not have otherwise caused the clock to stop. |
|
|||
REPLY: ljudge...the NCAA and Fed rules for this play are entirely different. In NCAA you start the clock on the snap because the play ended with the anticipation of awarding B a new series. In Fed, you must actually award the new series for the clock to start on the snap.
The idea of taking the foul out of the play and making the clock decision solely on the outcome of the play is OK for NCAA but will get you into trouble for Fed.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Thanks all for the replies today. I see where your coming from and if I hadn't read this NCAA ruling I would have been OK for fed. But now I understand the difference. So again, thanks!
Now I get to UN-learn all the NCAA clock rules that I have been studying all this time. Bob - headed to Kean Univ. at 5am tomorrow for our 2-day clinic. 13 hours of presentations and meetings tomorrow followed by more (including field work) on Saturday. I'll let you know how it works out. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Jim, consider the following; 4th and 4 at B's 40 and A35 runs for three yards up the middle and B77 grabs but does not twists the runners face mask on the way down.
In NCAA, you will have the clock on the snap cuz B is going to be awarded a 1st down, even though they will not be cuz of the penalty. That is what Bob means "the anticipation of awarding B a new series." As Bob says "in Fed, you must actually award the new series for the clock to start on the snap" after considering the effects of all penalties. So in the play I provided the clock will be on the RFP since the run ended IB's and A will continue their series. |
|
|||
Maybe we're saying the same this but Bob's comment confused me. You have to consider the results of the play without the penalty first when deciding when to start the clock. Disregarding the penalty for a minute, the results of the play - tackled in bounds, ran out of bounds, incomplete pass, etc. are key in determining when the clock will start after the penalty enforcement. In any of the situations, if A ran out of bounds, regardless of awarding a new series to A or B or no one, the clock will start on the snap. Now, after you've looked at the results of the play, then you can add in any clock consideratons from the penalty.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Timing question | DrMooreReferee | Football | 3 | Tue Nov 28, 2006 06:55am |
AAU Fun and a timing question | ranjo | Basketball | 10 | Wed Jun 14, 2006 03:53pm |
Timing Question | lrpalmer3 | Basketball | 17 | Sat Dec 25, 2004 02:25am |
another timing question | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 7 | Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:24pm |
Timing Question | TGR | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 13, 2000 02:07pm |