The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Question Downing a scimmage kick, goal line - NCAA

When does a scimmagekick become a touchback in NCAA? Can a player reach over the goal line to grab a ball that still has not yet touched the ground in the endzone? Can a player touching the goal line down the ball that is still in the field of play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonofanump
When does a scimmagekick become a touchback in NCAA? Can a player reach over the goal line to grab a ball that still has not yet touched the ground in the endzone? Can a player touching the goal line down the ball that is still in the field of play?
No and Yes.

The position of the player in NCAA and what he is touching is irrelevant. The position of the BALL is the sole thing that matters in NCAA. If the ball is over the EZ or the Goal Line, and a player in the field of play jumps, reaches, dives and taps the ball back into the field of play, said player has touched the ball in the endzone (likely a TB, although the receiving team may still return the ball at this point until the ball is dead). if a player is laying in the endzone and reaches into the field of play to prevent a ball from reaching the EZ, the ball is down where it was touched or where it becomes dead.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
There was a great example of a kicking team player reaching into the EZ to bat a scrimmage kick backward to be downed at the one.
Me thinks it was in the BC/Navy game, but not 100% sure one it. Anyone?

Covering officials got together and correctly ruled a TB and spotted the ball on the 20.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Interesting twist to this....

In studying for my NCAA test I was going over batting with respect to scrimmage kicks. I believe I read this in redding's guide....

If B happened to touch the ball (and team A was unaware of it) and team A subsequently batted the ball in team B's ez toward his own goalline, team A would then be guilty of an illegal bat.

This would be a very costly penalty for team A b/c this would more than likely occur on 4th down so it would be 15-yds from the PS and loss of down.

Now, the question is...would you call this?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonofanump
When does a scimmage kick become a touchback in NCAA? Can a player reach over the goal line to grab a ball that still has not yet touched the ground in the endzone? Can a player touching the goal line down the ball that is still in the field of play?
REPLY To follow up on mcrowder's good explanation....Also, once the ball touches the ground in B's endzone, it's dead and a TB, unless the ball was touched by B in the field of play. In that case, it remains live.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Thank you! Location of ball, but plane does not make it dead like NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
In studying for my NCAA test I was going over batting with respect to scrimmage kicks. I believe I read this in redding's guide....

If B happened to touch the ball (and team A was unaware of it) and team A subsequently batted the ball in team B's ez toward his own goalline, team A would then be guilty of an illegal bat.

This would be a very costly penalty for team A b/c this would more than likely occur on 4th down so it would be 15-yds from the PS and loss of down.

Now, the question is...would you call this?
You read that correctly. No player can bat a loose ball while in the EZ. It would be a tough call to make, but one you would have to make if you ruled the team-B receiver did touch the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
There was a great example of a kicking team player reaching into the EZ to bat a scrimmage kick backward to be downed at the one.
Me thinks it was in the BC/Navy game, but not 100% sure one it. Anyone?

Covering officials got together and correctly ruled a TB and spotted the ball on the 20.
There was a great example in the BCS Champ game and that play is the subject of the next video play I will be posting.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
In studying for my NCAA test I was going over batting with respect to scrimmage kicks. I believe I read this in redding's guide....

If B happened to touch the ball (and team A was unaware of it) and team A subsequently batted the ball in team B's ez toward his own goalline, team A would then be guilty of an illegal bat.

This would be a very costly penalty for team A b/c this would more than likely occur on 4th down so it would be 15-yds from the PS and loss of down.

Now, the question is...would you call this?
The loss of down provision doesn't apply to scrimmage kicks beyond the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX
The loss of down provision doesn't apply to scrimmage kicks beyond the neutral zone.
Hey Jason, I'm not sure exactly what you mean. The foul is for an illegal bat which carries a loss of down provision, correct? Is there an exception?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
Hey Jason, I'm not sure exactly what you mean. The foul is for an illegal bat which carries a loss of down provision, correct? Is there an exception?
Yup- in the penalty part of 9-4-1...

Exception: No loss of down if the foul occurs when a legal scrimmage kick is beyond the neutral zone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
http://www.safootballchapter.us/VID/EZBAT.htm

Here is the video clip from the BCS Championship Game

Last edited by TXMike; Thu Jan 18, 2007 at 06:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
How about fixing your link TXMike.. one too many http:// in the link.

Do you have a .wmv for this play?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Yes (.wmv) but it is fairly large.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goal line -- not seeing the ball Rich Football 12 Thu Oct 26, 2006 02:50pm
Goal Line Extended Jaysef Football 9 Mon Oct 03, 2005 08:56am
Free kick line behind the goal line starman Football 9 Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:33pm
Goal Line Help Jaysef Football 13 Thu Oct 14, 2004 07:48am
Goal Line Tom Cook Football 6 Thu Aug 15, 2002 03:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1