The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2006, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike22Official
OK OK, I got it. For some reason I was thinking that Team B had secured possession with an interception.

If A, on a try, were to fumble at B's 3 yard line, and B66, while attempting to recover the fumble, FORCED it into the endzone where it was recovered by Team B or knocked OOB in the endzone, a 1-point safety would be awarded to Team A.
You are correct, but I'm going to be picky here since you are a new official

The word "force" as it pertains to NFHS rules is not a verb, it is a noun. The ball is never "forced." Paraphrasing the definition, force may result from the ball being batted, muffed, kicked, or passed. Now, one thing to keep in mind in your situation. A new force MAY result when a grounded ball is batted, muffed, or kicked. In your situation, we have to be 100% positive that B's force casued the ball to go from the field of play into the endzone (i.e. across the goal-line). If A fumbles the ball and it is rolling toward the end zone at a decent pace, and then B muffs the ball in the same direction, we are probably not going to rule that B's force caused the ball to cross the goal line. Then, depending on who recovers, we will rule accordingly. On the other hand, if the ball is nearly coming to a rest at the 3 yard line, and B muffs the ball, we can without doubt rule that B's force caused the ball to go from the field of play into the end zone. Then we will rule accordingly after one team gains possession. Make sense?

We are not done with you on this play yet, though

We have 6 potential situations to rule on here, so provide your ruling for the following:

We have ruled A's force put the ball in the end zone and
(1) a member of team A recovers the ball
(2) a member of team B recovers the ball
(3) the ball rolls out of bounds through the back of the end zone

We have ruled B's force put the ball in the end zone and
(4) a member of team A recovers the ball
(5) a member of team B recovers the ball
(6) the ball rolls out of bounds through the back of the end zone
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused truerookie Basketball 2 Thu Nov 24, 2005 02:44am
Safeties on tries Schultj Football 3 Sat Aug 02, 2003 05:33pm
?safeties on turnovers? joeminnesota Football 4 Tue Jul 29, 2003 08:35pm
CONFUSED rburn22281 Basketball 9 Tue Apr 16, 2002 10:43am
confused Jeremy40 Basketball 31 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1