![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I had a play in a playoff game this year where the quarterback turned to pitch the ball to the running back on a sweep. The running back had gone the other way so there was no one to pitch to. The quarterback's momentum spun him around a little further when the ball came out of his hands but forward. The ball hit the ground before anyone caught it so I immediately ruled incomplete forward pass. Since it was behind the neutral zone there was no illegal forward pass and there was no attempt to avoid a sack so we did not have intentional grounding. Using your logic would you have ruled this a fumble and loose ball even though that is contrary to the rules? |
|
|||
|
Ok, hypothetically.
You have an option offense, the qb runs around the end 10 yards past line of scrimmage, is going to get tackled, pitches the ball to the running back, who is now 1 yard ahead of him. Not expecting the ball, doesn't catch it, ball is recovered by defense. So now you have to tell the coach that it is not a fumble, but an incomplete pass. I'm not arguing the rule, just that it defys logic and penalizes the defense. These are the types of rules, that enforced correctly, make officials look bad. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
We must be talking about two different things. Last edited by Trap; Tue Nov 28, 2006 at 03:30pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Illegal Blocks "in the back" | Rich | Football | 14 | Mon Oct 09, 2006 01:56pm |
| Why "general" and "additional"? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 1 | Sat Oct 07, 2006 02:56pm |
| "Balk" or "Ball" | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 9 | Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am |
| "Leaving Early" (pitch) to pull up socks | Dakota | Softball | 17 | Fri May 26, 2006 12:57pm |