The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Your second question comes back to a thread that got a lot of discussion a while back, but I can't find it. There are three possibilities. If the player is standing on the ground OOB when he swats it, then it's simply incomplete. If the player leaps from in bounds and is over OOB territory when he swats it, it's a legal bat - play on.

The argument came on the play where the receiver steps OOB, leaps into the air, and bats the ball to an in-bounds teammate. Consensus was that this should be an illegal participation foul. Other thoughts were to just rule this incomplete (IMO, more a call of convenience than anything else), or to say no foul on the play (which I argued for on the grounds that the term "in bounds" is nowhere defined, and I didn't think the receiver had returned in bounds).
So, goven the original play, what do you have? IP or A ball at the 2? You still do not have a defination for "in-bounds" and the player is out of bounds while touching a live ball.
__________________
If you don't see it, don't call it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Sorry, I thought I'd answered that. No foul - the receiver never returned inbounds. It's simply an incomplete pass since the ball is OOB as soon as it touches him.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Sorry, I thought I'd answered that. No foul - the receiver never returned inbounds. It's simply an incomplete pass since the ball is OOB as soon as it touches him.
Roaming, in the original play, the player caught the pass, then fumbled, so it wouldn't be incomplete, just to clarfiy.

I agree, no foul. Ball dead at the spot the OOB player touched the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2006, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
1st and goal at the 2.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 23, 2006, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Roaming, in the original play, the player caught the pass, then fumbled, so it wouldn't be incomplete, just to clarfiy.

I agree, no foul. Ball dead at the spot the OOB player touched the ball.
Ah, right you are. All I can say in my defense is that I got it right in my first reply. (Well, that, and the two-week-old was up pretty much all night.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 24, 2006, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southeastern Mass near RI
Posts: 14
Lets see. We have a catch A-88 at B-12 advanced to B-7 he fumbles the ball forward then tocuhed by A-88 who is out of bounds, ball is dead (4-2-3). The ball is returned to the spot of the fumble (7-2-4). A's ball at B-7 wind the clock. A 1-10 at B-7. (NCAA)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the call? veg4 Baseball 1 Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm
Whats the call, if any.. j0esmoe13 Baseball 1 Tue Aug 09, 2005 02:06am
Whats the call ? debeau Softball 9 Wed Mar 16, 2005 08:02am
Another ASA whats the call Gulf Coast Blue Softball 3 Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am
whats the call if any? Sideline Ref Basketball 26 Wed Jan 17, 2001 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1