The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
No, because he can't be eligible if he is a tackle. Only the NFL permits this.

You can only be eligible by POSITION along with the NUMBER you are wearing.

The numbers are 1-49 and 80-99, the positions are anywhere in the backfield and the two guys on the end of the line.

You might have heard of the snapper catching a pass, Not a problem as long as he was wearing the correct number AND was on the end of the line at the time of the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
No, because he can't be eligible if he is a tackle. Only the NFL permits this.
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Knowing Theisey, I don't think he meant that a tackle can never be eligible. I think what he was getting at is that by definition, an uncovered player next to the guard would be an end, not a tackle. Even though he is the tradition tackle spot, he is not a "tackle".

Just to summarize what has been said here, no announcing, NFL only (one of my biggest pet peeves). In order to have a legal formation, you must have 5 guys on the LOS 50-79, so if you have a player with an eligible number 1-49 and 80-99, you must have 5 guys numbered accordingly. And like any other eligible receiver, he cannot be covered up by another player. This is for regular scrimmage downs.

For scrimmage kicks, the eligible receivers are determined when they set, not when the ball is snapped like a regular scrimmage down. You see this often confused on the swinging gate plays. The numbering exception comes into play after they shift to a kick formation, but if you move an eligible number to an eligible position, he must have been eligible in the original set, i.e. not covered by anyone prior to the shift.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.
Yeah it is semantics. "Tackle", "guard", "flanker", etc. are words that have no meaning with regard to the rules. What if 10 players line up on the line of scrimmage? What do you call them?

If you're on the end of the line, you're an end. If you're on the LOS and between the ends, then you're a lineman. Everybody else is a back, unless they're lined up illegally (no man's land)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Yeah it is semantics. "Tackle", "guard", "flanker", etc. are words that have no meaning with regard to the rules. What if 10 players line up on the line of scrimmage? What do you call them?
10 linemen, 2 ends, and a back (assuming the QB was behind the center---I mean snapper).
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesears
10 linemen, 2 ends, and a back (assuming the QB was behind the center---I mean snapper).
Yeah, but I was just trying to illustrate to those who have to label every single player (ie, tackle, guard, etc.). So what would you have, a center, two guards, two tackles, two "tight ends", but then what? That leaves 3 more players on the line.

Just trying to make a point that those titles (guard, tackle, etc.) are more or less "fan" terms, and have no bearing on the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.
As far as the rules go, there's no such thing as a tackle or a guard. If he's on the end of the line, he's an end.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
No Fed rule refers to the area between the tackles at all?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 04:14pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Actually, the words "guard" and "tackle" do appear in both the NFHS Rule and Case Book. Semantics again, but they are Fed-used terms, so I feel it's okay to use them in the proper contexts, (provided the user knows what they're talking about).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 12, 2006, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Actually, the words "guard" and "tackle" do appear in both the NFHS Rule and Case Book. Semantics again, but they are Fed-used terms, so I feel it's okay to use them in the proper contexts, (provided the user knows what they're talking about).
I did not say the words did not appear in the rule book. I said that the rule book does NOT recognize A GUARD or A TACKLE. THe fact that I placed an "A" in front of the words means that the word is a noun, not a verb.

The fact remains that the rule book does not recognize the terms with regard to where a player is positioned.

Here endeth the English lesson.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2006, 02:26pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
I did not say the words did not appear in the rule book. I said that the rule book does NOT recognize A GUARD or A TACKLE. THe fact that I placed an "A" in front of the words means that the word is a noun, not a verb.

The fact remains that the rule book does not recognize the terms with regard to where a player is positioned.

Here endeth the English lesson.
Thank you for the English lesson, but both words appear as nouns in both books. So actually, the Rule Book (and Case Book) does recognize these terms in relation to where a player is positioned before/at the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.
Yep, you are. On the END of the line makes him an END, regardless of how far from the snapper he is. Heck, the snapper can be an END if no one covers him up... and if he has an eligible number, he can be an eligible receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 12, 2006, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think I agree with this statement. Are you saying that if he lines up next to the guard with no other player beyond him on the LOS that he is not a tackle , but an end? I' would say that he is a tackle that is an eligible receiver if he has the proper number. Likewise in the muddle huddle the center is still a center even though he is on the end of the line.

I think I'm arguing over semantics.
No semantics. If a player has an eligible number, and is on the end of his line, he's an END, no matter if he's lined up next to the guard or the center, or is the snapper. END means END.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bench tackle on a break away IHSFW.com Football 16 Mon Nov 14, 2005 01:28pm
Tackle eligible requirement Exkalybr Football 16 Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:51pm
Sliding Tackle Ed Hickland Football 3 Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:23am
Tackle Eligible??? stevesmith Football 15 Mon Sep 13, 2004 02:57pm
Tackle eligible play... slippery rock Football 9 Mon Oct 13, 2003 02:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1