The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2005, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 149
penalty administration. . .
-on a successful try, b commits a foul. time has expired for the period before the touchdown. a takes the point and the penalty. how is it administered? is it an untimed down? what is the rule reference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2005, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
penalize on kick-off

Since the Try is n un-timed down, the period would not be extended.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2005, 09:26pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Re: penalize on kick-off

Quote:
Originally posted by chiefgil
Since the Try is n un-timed down, the period would not be extended.
Correct. 3-3-3 says "A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period...

This was an untimed down, so no extention. As chiefgil said, penalize on the kick off.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2005, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Rule 8-3-5

If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of:

a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or
b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot.

[Edited by waltjp on Aug 1st, 2005 at 11:20 PM]
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 04:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by waltjp
Rule 8-3-5

If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of:

a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or
b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot.

[Edited by waltjp on Aug 1st, 2005 at 11:20 PM]
Nice info but not the answer to the question. As stated above, no untimed down. Kickoff to start the next period.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
[QUOTE]Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by waltjp
Nice info but not the answer to the question. As stated above, no untimed down. Kickoff to start the next period.
This is not a penalty during an untimed down at the end of the period. This is the choice given to A when a penalty on B occurs during a successful try. A has the option to take the penalty and replay the down if they want to try for 2 points.

Rule 3-3-4 states: "A period shall not be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occurs:

a. When the defense fouls during a successful try/field goal and the offended team accepts the results of the play with enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot.

The option for A is to accept the penalty and replay the try or enforce the penalty on the succeeding kickoff.

[Edited by waltjp on Aug 3rd, 2005 at 08:09 AM]
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 08:16am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by michaelpr
penalty administration. . .
-on a successful try, b commits a foul. time has expired for the period before the touchdown. a takes the point and the penalty. how is it administered? is it an untimed down? what is the rule reference?
The try is good. A can choose to apply to penalty during the next period, or extend the original period for one play. Usually this is to take advantage of the wind.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1