![]() |
|
|||
Some clarification of NCAA kick play
On a kickoff from his 35-yard line, A31 touches the ball at his own 43-yard line. As the play continues, B2 gains possession, carries the ball for a few yards and fumbles. A29 recovers the ball and carries it over Team B's goal line. During A29's run B70 holds.
Ruling: No score. The penalty is declined by rule. Team B gets possession of the ball at the A43 due to the illegal touching. Why is this declined by rule? What is the reference number? I'm confused how they can commit a foul, then get the ball. Also, I would think this is a foul by the opponent of the scoring team it would be enforced on the try. (Although I'm not sure if this is a rule in NCAA as it is with fed) This is example 3-8 (page 10) in the Redding manual. This is probably one of those things that are absolutely 100% crystal clear to everyone. For some stupid reason I'm not seeing it. Maybe because I haven't had my Miller Lite after a long day at work. Last edited by ljudge; Wed Oct 25, 2006 at 08:19pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA rule clarification... | ckrumm24 | Basketball | 7 | Sun Mar 12, 2006 02:59am |
NCAA handcheck clarification | stripes | Basketball | 3 | Tue Nov 09, 2004 09:52am |
Onside Kick Clarification | Lions Fan | Football | 2 | Sat Oct 23, 2004 04:26pm |
New NCAA "team control" clarification | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 2 | Mon Aug 25, 2003 06:44am |
Rule Clarification to a play we discussed | Self | Basketball | 51 | Fri Aug 09, 2002 07:22pm |