View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 08:16pm
ljudge ljudge is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Some clarification of NCAA kick play

On a kickoff from his 35-yard line, A31 touches the ball at his own 43-yard line. As the play continues, B2 gains possession, carries the ball for a few yards and fumbles. A29 recovers the ball and carries it over Team B's goal line. During A29's run B70 holds.

Ruling: No score. The penalty is declined by rule. Team B gets possession of the ball at the A43 due to the illegal touching.

Why is this declined by rule? What is the reference number? I'm confused how they can commit a foul, then get the ball. Also, I would think this is a foul by the opponent of the scoring team it would be enforced on the try. (Although I'm not sure if this is a rule in NCAA as it is with fed)

This is example 3-8 (page 10) in the Redding manual.

This is probably one of those things that are absolutely 100% crystal clear to everyone. For some stupid reason I'm not seeing it. Maybe because I haven't had my Miller Lite after a long day at work.

Last edited by ljudge; Wed Oct 25, 2006 at 08:19pm.
Reply With Quote