The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
NFL Rules and Pylon

I am watching the Bengals-Buccaneers game and Houshmandzadeh made an unbelievable catch at the goal line for a touchdown. Tampa challenged and when I saw the replay I thought it would ruled incomplete. He went up with both feet in bounds and came down with both feet in bounds but his feet hit the pylon on the way down. I thought the pylon was out of bounds and thus this would be an incomplete pass.

After reviewing the play the referee acknowledged the receiver hit the pylon but since the pylon is in-bounds the catch was good. This would be an incomplete pass per NFHS rules correct? Is the NFL rule different?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
I saw the same play and immediatly thought the same thing. According to the Fed, the pylon if properly placed is out of bounds. Rule 2.28.1 says "a player...is out of bounds when any part of the person is touching anything...who is on or outside the sideline or endline". So looks like in HS it would be out of bounds and incomplete, unless there's some random exception somewhere that I don't remmeber.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
What an amazing set of plays in the NFL today (and I'm only casually watching off and on)!!

I flipped over to Fox and caught the end of the Seahawks-Rams game. Seattle ran a play with about 18 seconds left and had to hurry to reset and spike the ball. There was a flag at the snap and the Rams HC immediately thought it was a procedure foul that would run 10 seconds off the clock and end the game (4 seconds showed on the clock). The penalty was a formation penalty (receiver was not on the line) which does not have a 10 second run-off. They moved the ball back 5 yards and Seattle had to kick a 54-yarder to win it. He made it easily. Talk about a swing in emotions!!

I then flipped back over to CBS and saw the replay of the previous play. TB is down 13-7 and they threw a pass over the middle. The receiver appeared to catch it at the 3 and stretch into the end zone where the ball came out of his hands. The ruling on the field was an incomplete pass but it was overturned on review. It was a very tough call to make on the field and the replay system worked perfectly to help the officials! The announcer showed his ignorance by saying the U had the best view of the play. Even though he was looking right at it, he would have been shielded by the receiver and would not have been able to see the ball. Just because he's the closest doesn't mean he has the best angle.

What a flurry!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
I think that the pylon shouldn't be used to judge in bounds/out of bounds in this case (although i didn't see the play).

Hypothetical and weird play just to discuss a point (NFL rules):

What if the receiver catches the ball in the right corner of the endzone. Left foot is down and shoulders are square to the end line. Receiver stands on one foot with the left, then with the other, swings it around counter-clockwise while pivoting on the left, kicks the very top of the pylon, then continues to spin and lands with the whole right foot in bounds and shoulders are facing the other endzone.

Wouldn't this be a catch even though the receiver hit the pylon, he didn't really step on the ground out of bounds?


NFHS/NCAA you could probably use the pylon as a good measurement for in/out of bounds since the first step has to come down in bounds (so if he hit the pylon, he was probably out of bounds).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
I think that the pylon shouldn't be used to judge in bounds/out of bounds in this case (although i didn't see the play).

Hypothetical and weird play just to discuss a point (NFL rules):

What if the receiver catches the ball in the right corner of the endzone. Left foot is down and shoulders are square to the end line. Receiver stands on one foot with the left, then with the other, swings it around counter-clockwise while pivoting on the left, kicks the very top of the pylon, then continues to spin and lands with the whole right foot in bounds and shoulders are facing the other endzone.

Wouldn't this be a catch even though the receiver hit the pylon, he didn't really step on the ground out of bounds?


NFHS/NCAA you could probably use the pylon as a good measurement for in/out of bounds since the first step has to come down in bounds (so if he hit the pylon, he was probably out of bounds).
I've always understood the pylon is out of bounds so contacting the pylon is the same as touching the ground out of bounds. That's why we move the pylons on the end lines that line up with the in-bounds hashes. They only serve to help the U with the hashes so there is no reason for them to be on the end line. Since they are out of bounds a receiver would be considered out bounds if he hits one of the pylons so you are better safe than sorry if you move the pylons back about 3 yards.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
In the definition section of the NFL book it says a player is out of bounds if he touches anything OTHER THAN a playter, an official or a pylon on or outside a boundary line.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End Zone Pylon Question richredskin Football 7 Tue Feb 07, 2006 08:33pm
IP and the Pylon ljudge Football 10 Wed Aug 04, 2004 03:26pm
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm
Goal Line Pylon jrfath Football 27 Thu Oct 16, 2003 02:37pm
Runner diving for the pylon. Mike Simonds Football 8 Tue Aug 06, 2002 03:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1