The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
My question centers around the pylon on the goal line. In the NFL, if a receiver catches a forward pass and has one foot clearly in bounds and his second foot touches or kicks the outside of the pylon before his second foot touches the ground (and in this case his second foot lands clearly out of bounds), is that a touchdown?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
No the pylon is OOB so when he touches the pylon he is OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 12:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Yeah I saw the same thing in one of the end-of-half Seattle debockle close calls. In NFL you need both feet down inbounds (or any other part of the body other than hands). In NCAA or HIgh School this is a TD (or down at 1, I don't remember exact position of ball at time)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Here's the question I have on this.

In 2002, the NFL changed the rule involing the pylon. The old rule stated that a player was out of bounds if he touched the pylon (no matter where he is on the field).

I'm confused on what the new rule says (I have two links that counter each other).

"A player will be ruled in bounds if he touches the pylon at the goal line before going out of bounds. For example, a pass would be considered complete if one foot touches the pylon and the other foot is in bounds."

http://espn.go.com/nfl/columns/clayt...n/1354105.html


"A player no longer can be ruled out of bounds when he touches a pylon unless he already touched the boundary line."

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/5153800

Here's a picture of the play


Is a play a catch, if a player catches the ball, one foot touches in bounds and the other touches the pylon.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
People are so confused on this one.

Touching the inside of the pylon (for example, by a diving player who has already established himself in bounds) can be proof that the ball crossed the goalline before crossing the out of bounds line.

However, on a catch, you must have TWO FEET ON THE GROUND IN BOUNDS.

The pylon is NOT part of the ground for purposes of this rule. Touching it with a foot does not constitute touching the ground in bounds, regardless of what side of the pylon you touch.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
I have no idea who's right and who is wrong. I am curious as well.. Should the play have been called a catch.. according to this statement from
John Clayton it should have been.


http://espn.go.com/nfl/columns/clayt...n/1354105.html


it the example setforth legit.. or is this his interpretation of the rule??


Quote:
"A player will be ruled in bounds if he touches the pylon at the goal line before going out of bounds. For example, a pass would be considered complete if one foot touches the pylon and the other foot is in bounds."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
My guess is that Clayton may be confusing two concepts. The first is when a catch constitutes a legal completion. The second is when a player is OOB.

The fact that the pylon is considered in bounds for a touchdown does not necessarily mean that it is considered in bounds for purposes of determining whether a catch was completed. E.g., if a player gets both feet in bounds and then kicks the pylon, it's a touchdown, but that doesn't necessarily mean that a guy could dive for a pass, catch it in the air, and then slap the pylon with his elbow on the way OOB and claim a completed pass.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
rulesmaven, that's how I'm interperting the rule.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1