The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
In the definition section of the NFL book it says a player is out of bounds if he touches anything OTHER THAN a playter, an official or a pylon on or outside a boundary line.
Thanks TXMike! That sounds pretty clear that the pylon is always in bounds in the NFL and this crew got it right (as expected).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
And yet, the NFL rulebook also says this under "Field Markings:"

"The four intersections of goal lines and sidelines must be marked at inside corners of the end zones and the gaol line by pylons. Pylons must be placed at inside edges of white lines and should not touch the surface of the actual playing field itself."

If it doesn't touch the playing field, it can't be in bounds, right?



While we're on the topic, I've never gotten a good answer to this one as it applies to NFHS: How the heck can the pylon be out of bounds and in the end zone, and what does that mean for someone who contacts it?
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
In NCAA, it means if you stretch the ball forward and it hits the pylon it is a TD.

AS for the NFL I think they are just making an exception because they realize the pylon sticking up from the field could be inadevertently touched even though the player was not actually touching a sideline or out of bounds so they chose not to penalize the players for touching thqat "obstruction".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 15, 2006, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack
While we're on the topic, I've never gotten a good answer to this one as it applies to NFHS: How the heck can the pylon be out of bounds and in the end zone, and what does that mean for someone who contacts it?
Remember John Madden and his whole "the goal line extends around the world" commentary. The pylon is on the goal line extended.

If a player (going in) contacts the pylon with the ball while it is in his possession, it is a TD whether he is airborne or not. One could technically say that if he's airborne and he hits the "outside" of the pylon then the ball has crossed the sideline plane prior to touching the pylon so he's short of the goal line- but we don't split hairs like that.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 02:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fayette Missouri
Posts: 100
I've always been told that the pylon is out of bounds in the endzone, so in order to touch the pylon with the ball, it actually breaks the plane of the endzone first and results in a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: The rule that TxMike quoted is only for the NFL. For the rest of us NCAA and NFHS types, the pylon is OOB behind the goal line. The NFL changed that rule a few seasons back when a receiver left the ground the catch a pass at the goal line. On his way up, his outside foot kicked the pylon. He controlled the ball in the air and returned to the ground with both feet inbounds. Unfortunately for him, the side judge's hat was on the ground. They changed the rule the following season.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023


Still.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 10:42am
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
If a player (going in) contacts the pylon with the ball while it is in his possession, it is a TD whether he is airborne or not.
Is this an NFL'ism? As I understand it in NFHS, the GL extended only applies if a player is on his feet. If a player leaves his feet and hits the pylon, it is not a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2006, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
Is this an NFL'ism? As I understand it in NFHS, the GL extended only applies if a player is on his feet. If a player leaves his feet and hits the pylon, it is not a touchdown.
REPLY: If I'm not mistaken, the NFL rule still requires him to land inbounds. It only ignores his touching of the pylon.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
I'm with cougar. I've always been told the same thing. It would be a touchdown because he broke the plane of the goal line.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 60
Think of it this way. As long at the receiver touches the pylon while he is airborn it's like he hasn't touched it at all simply because he is in the air. What if the pylon was not there and he jumps up, catches the ball and lands inbounds. TD.

If he hits the pylon going up or coming down, he still has to get both feet inbounds. It makes sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
Is this an NFL'ism? As I understand it in NFHS, the GL extended only applies if a player is on his feet. If a player leaves his feet and hits the pylon, it is not a touchdown.
You need to read the rest of my post. If he hits the pylon with the ball, I'm going up with it. I'm not going to try to sell that he hit the "wrong" side of the pylon.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 01:24pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
You need to read the rest of my post. If he hits the pylon with the ball, I'm going up with it. I'm not going to try to sell that he hit the "wrong" side of the pylon.
I understand that the center of discussion is about the NFL side of things. I'm trying to confirm my understanding of NFHS.

The entire pylon is out of bounds. Regardless of what side of the pylong the player hits, if he is off his feet, I'd rule out of bounds at the 1 foot line, or wherever is about where the ball crossed the sidelines.

Of course if he is on his feet (in bounds of course), then we have a TD because the ball crossed the GL extended.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
The entire pylon is out of bounds. Regardless of what side of the pylong the player hits, if he is off his feet, I'd rule out of bounds at the 1 foot line, or wherever is about where the ball crossed the sidelines.

Of course if he is on his feet (in bounds of course), then we have a TD because the ball crossed the GL extended.
Is that correct? 'Cause that'll make my life a whole lot simpler if that's really the deal right there.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 17, 2006, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
The entire pylon is out of bounds. Regardless of what side of the pylong the player hits, if he is off his feet, I'd rule out of bounds at the 1 foot line, or wherever is about where the ball crossed the sidelines.
Be careful with that thought.

PYLONS
1.2.4 SITUATION:
Ball carrier A10 dives into the pylon at the intersection of the goal line and sidelines. RULING: Touchdown. Assuming the pylon was placed properly, the ball broke the plane of the goal line prior to the touching of the pylon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End Zone Pylon Question richredskin Football 7 Tue Feb 07, 2006 08:33pm
IP and the Pylon ljudge Football 10 Wed Aug 04, 2004 03:26pm
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm
Goal Line Pylon jrfath Football 27 Thu Oct 16, 2003 02:37pm
Runner diving for the pylon. Mike Simonds Football 8 Tue Aug 06, 2002 03:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1