![]() |
|
|
|||
Not understanding the components of an IBB is not a regionalism.
I like the way you explain it by the way the blockee falls to the side. Also, I like to say that the back is the back, it is NOT the shoulder or arm and the IBB must COME from the back, not the side. When you are down in a 41-7 game, everything looks bad! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Seriously, its funny, though. Last year, I heard about every phantom BIB that didn't happen. This year, I don't think I've heard much about them -- fewer than 5 times the whole season (~30 games). |
|
|||
Try what out training instructor does when he is teaching BIB to new recruits. He draws a simple rectangle and asks them to describe the 4 sides of the rectangle. We usually get answers like front, back, left, and right. Then he goes on to note that a block to only one of those is a BIB.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel |
|
|||
Quote:
...and i like how coaches and players call all IBB's "clips", even though they are 2 different fouls. i'm guilty of it too (pretty much because it's easier to yell "clip" than "illegal block in the back"). haha |
|
|||
So following the logic here...if the "blockee" does not fall to or get driven to the side, but instead the block spins them around (example, defender hit on right and is spun to left by the contact) then it is an IBB? I ask because that happened in our game Friday on a punt return - we (of course)thought it was clearly an IBB, but the LJ said the contact was on the side...however, our defender was spun completely around because the contact came on the back of the shoulder...so I'm trying to make sure I understand the IBB thing a little better for the future...
|
|
||||
Quote:
A block in the back must be inside the shoulders, below the helmet, and above the waist. See 2-5-2 in the NFHS rules. It's likely that a lot of legal blocks will blindside the player receiving the block. Those are the ones we always hear about from the coaches. Unless it's between the shoulder blades, though, it's legal. Last edited by Rich; Mon Oct 09, 2006 at 10:27am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
"Official" unofficial LL World Series Thread | SanDiegoSteve | Baseball | 201 | Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:17am |
"Balk" or "Ball" | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 9 | Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am |
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" | Dakota | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm |
"Leaving Early" (pitch) to pull up socks | Dakota | Softball | 17 | Fri May 26, 2006 12:57pm |