![]() |
|
|
|||
Auburn-LSU PI non-call
Question for those who saw the LSU-Auburn game or highlights. Pass is thrown but the DB tackles the intended receiver before the ball gets there. Also before the ball gets there, the ball is tipped by another DB. The ruling on the field was since the ball was tipped there is no PI and since the hold happened before the tip, there is no holding so the flag was waved off. I looked up the rules on ncaa.org and that appears to be the correct call. Since the next game I officiate will be my first, what are your thoughts?
|
|
|||
It wasn't DPI because the ball was batted away and was uncatchable, not because it was touched by B ending restrictions.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
It was DPI all the way. Really wasn't even that close. The BJ makes a great DPI call and got talked in to picking it up. The contact happened before the ball was tipped. I think in that particular play, since the DB that tipped the ball was so close to the other DB that made the contact, touching shouldn't have been an issue.
|
|
|||
So, Nickel ... you think this ball was catchable?!?!?!
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Auburn-Georgia fumble | largeone59 | Football | 5 | Sun Nov 20, 2005 06:41am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
FLA-Auburn pass and crash | Jay R | Basketball | 9 | Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:15am |