![]() |
|
|||
|
REPLY: When you need to set the ball following an incomplete forward pass, you need to keep one thing in mind: The last sentence of the pertinent rule says, "If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down." For an illegal forward pass, the ball is returned to the end of the run (spot of the foul) as the others have said.
For those who might care, the NCAA has an exception that allows B to treat an incomplete illegal forward pass from A's end zone as if it were a legal forward pass, i.e. return it to the previous spot. PLAY: A, 4-10 from A's 5. A10 under duress, intentionally grounds a forward pass from his endzone. NCAA RULING: B can take the safety (gets 2 points) and A will free kick from their 20, or B can take the ball 1 and goal from A's 5. FEDERATION RULING: A is awarded 2 points for the safety. No other opions. A free kicks from their 20. Sorry Jason...I didn't see your post when I posted my response.
__________________
Bob M. Last edited by Bob M.; Thu Sep 14, 2006 at 09:35am. |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| TB, Safety, or??? | ljudge | Football | 9 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:21pm |
| TD or Safety? | chiefgil | Football | 3 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:01am |
| Safety | jwaz | Football | 1 | Sun Aug 29, 2004 02:17pm |
| Safety? | tchaap | Football | 5 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:44am |
| Safety | fjmeeksjr | Football | 15 | Sat Nov 03, 2001 11:47am |