![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
NCAA is different than Fed on this one. A couple years ago the NCAA rule was the same as Fed, but now the NCAA has an exception to this. If thrown from the end zone, the offended team can decline the penalty and take the "artificial" incomplete pass.
|
|
|||
Fair Enough.
Fair enough, thanks for the input. One last though . . .
I guess I am having trouble with two points. One, B declined the penalty. An infraction occurred that was declined. B should have choices. Table 7-5-2 does classify intentional grounding as an illegal forward pass. Yes end of run in the end zone, blah blah blah. Why can't B decline penalty and take results of play, in this case an incomplete pass. They may want to decline and go for TD? One more scenario that involves IFP: QB A12 takes snap and drops 5 yards deep into the end zone and throws forward pass (legal) to end A80. End A80 catches pass then throws long forward pass (2nd FP, so IFP) from 1 yard deep in end zone. a) Ball is intercepted inbounds and returned for a TD by B. Snap, first run ends, loose ball, another run ends, second loose ball, followed by run. B would choose to take results of the play which is a TD. They decline the penalty to take results of the play. b) Same scenario, but pass falls incomplete. There is no run following the last loose ball. B declines penalty. End of run was in the end zone, followed by IFP. B declines penalty, maybe because it was 4th down and they want to try for TD. Does B have to take a safety in both IFP scenarios - - intentional grounding and 2nd FP? |
|
|||
Indy_Stu: It seems to me that you are hung up on the illegal forward pass being incomplete and going back to the previous spot. If an IFP is thrown from the EZ and incomplete then you have safety no matter what because even though it's a pass and it's incomplete it's still a running play as far as any penalty enforcement and the all but one. An incomplete IFP is the same as if the QB was sacked in the EZ. I think you've got that concept, right?
If an IFP is thrown from the EZ and it's complete then you have a different set of cirucmstances. What you have is a completed pass. If B intercepts an IFP (thrown from EZ), they CAN decline the safety and keep the ball. The issue is an incomplete IFP - it is a run and the end of the run is the spot where the ball was thrown. I hope I didn't beat to death something you already know. If so, I apologize. |
|
|||
Quote:
The result of the play is not an incomplete pass. It's an incomplete illegal forward pass. The result of the play is a run that ended in the end zone. On a incomplete legal forward pass, the ball goes back to the previous spot. On an incomplete illegal forward pass, the ball is marked at the end of the run. The play is just as if A1 had been tackled in the end zone because that's where the run ended. Quote:
b)If incomplete, then the play ended with a run by A in B's end zone. It's no different than being tackled there. Safety.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
REPLY: Indy_Stu...let's give this one more try: The rule which governs placement of the ball for the next down says:
"If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down." There should be no problems here. Now, if your question was intended to ask "Why doesn't the Federation have a rule like the NCAA's which would allow the ball to be placed at the previous spot?" then there's merit to the question. And it needs to be directed to the Federation Rules Committee for consideration through your state committee member, Mr. Cox. But if your question is indeed "Why can't B decline (the) penalty and take results of play, in this case an incomplete pass," asked in the context of the current Federation rules, then it's simply without merit. The rules are very clear that the ball is placed at the spot of the end of the run. Hence, safety regardless of whether the penalty is accepted or not.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Wait a minute...
Are you saying that in FED that B cannot decline Intentional Grounding and accept the result of the play? What if the result of the intentional grounding was actually an intercepted pass, returned for a TD by B? In Fed, did the pass in essence never occur?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
||||
Quote:
|
|
|||
So in Fed, if a QB was about to get sacked, and just winged it to his left, where no receivers were, and this pass was caught by B, you nullify the interception merely because there were no A receivers in the area?
Not complaining, just trying to clarify this, since I don't work FED.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Thanks, result is always a safety due to IFP
Thanks to all who courteously and unassumingly posted, to clarify this IFP situation to me:
waltjp kdf5 HawkeyeCubP whitehat52 JasonTX Bob M. Bob M. post at 10:51 helped seal the deal for me. I do not know NCAA rules as I only do HS football. This would be one situation (IFP from own end zone) that IMO would be good to unify the codes. I would like to see B have options, like they do on other enforcements. Maybe I will direct this to Mr. B. Cox - - the next time we play golf! |
|
|||
REPLY: When you need to set the ball following an incomplete forward pass, you need to keep one thing in mind: The last sentence of the pertinent rule says, "If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down." For an illegal forward pass, the ball is returned to the end of the run (spot of the foul) as the others have said.
For those who might care, the NCAA has an exception that allows B to treat an incomplete illegal forward pass from A's end zone as if it were a legal forward pass, i.e. return it to the previous spot. PLAY: A, 4-10 from A's 5. A10 under duress, intentionally grounds a forward pass from his endzone. NCAA RULING: B can take the safety (gets 2 points) and A will free kick from their 20, or B can take the ball 1 and goal from A's 5. FEDERATION RULING: A is awarded 2 points for the safety. No other opions. A free kicks from their 20. Sorry Jason...I didn't see your post when I posted my response.
__________________
Bob M. Last edited by Bob M.; Thu Sep 14, 2006 at 09:35am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
TB, Safety, or??? | ljudge | Football | 9 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:21pm |
TD or Safety? | chiefgil | Football | 3 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:01am |
Safety | jwaz | Football | 1 | Sun Aug 29, 2004 02:17pm |
Safety? | tchaap | Football | 5 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:44am |
Safety | fjmeeksjr | Football | 15 | Sat Nov 03, 2001 11:47am |