The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2005, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
Kentref,

You can't have KCI because the ball has been grounded.


[Edited by Patton on Oct 6th, 2005 at 06:17 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2005, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by kentref
To clarify: K12 is not a "12th man" on the field. Only a uniform number.

Under NFHS rules, does anyone have kick catching interference on this? The rule book appears to be "silent" on kick catching interference in the neutral zone on a free kick UNLESS the ball is in flight (i.e. has not hit the ground). It may seem appropriate to rule that the potential receiver was denied his right to the ball, but I can't find rules support for calling kick catching interference when the ball has been grounded. Agree or disagree?

Disagree, once the ball touches the ground its impossible to have KCI. When I get home I will cite the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2005, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
6-5-6 While any free-kick is in flight in or beyond the neutral zone to the receiver’s goal line or any scrimmage kick is in flight beyond the neutral zone to the receiver’s goal line, K shall not touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker, nor obstruct R’s path to the ball. This prohibition applies even when no fair-catch signal is given, but it does not apply after a free-kick has been touched by a receiver, or after a scrimmage kick has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching.
EXCEPTION: K may catch, touch, muff or bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone if no player of R is in position to catch the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2005, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
The NZ has nothing to do with KCI, during a FK. If the ball has NOT touched the ground, it is KCI anywhere on the field, during a FK, regardless if no R players are in the area.

If the ball has hit the ground, there is no KCI. There can be first touching, in the NZ. If there is first touching, clock doesn't start.

That is the reason the kicker tops the ball, making it hit the ground and bounce into the air, so his team can field the ball beyond the NZ.

Green
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 08:24am
U52 U52 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via ICQ to U52
Can R signal for a fair catch if the ball has hit the ground?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally posted by U52
Can R signal for a fair catch if the ball has hit the ground?
No, R may only signal for a fair catch while the kick is in flight. "in flight" meaning that the kick has not touched the ground. If R gives a fair catch signal after the kick has touched the ground, that would be an illegal fair catch signal.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Lets use the correct terms for NF.

Illegal FC signals are given by runners.
Invalid FC signals are given by receivers when a FC by rule cannot be made. Such as once the ball has hit the ground as in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Why is this even a question still. I think it's been answered 8 times til Sunday. KCI ONLY applies to a ball in flight. A grounded ball is by definition not in flight.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
If you would like an NCAA result, you still have a free kick OOB but you also have an illegal block on the kickers.
It's illegal as they cannot block until they are legally able to touch the ball which they can't do yet.
Ok let me get this straight. if the ball is over the 45 yard line (NCAA assuming normal kickoff at 35), a block can be made by K. if it's not over the 45, then K cannot touch a R player? Let's assume the ball doesn't go out of bounds but is travelling towards the numbers (ball does hit the ground as in the original situation).
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2005, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
NCAA: Team-A (K) cannot block during a F/K until the ball has gone beyond team-B's (R) restraining line (i.e. 10 yards).

Of course the standard exceptions apply such as if a team-B player touches it prior to reaching that point or it touches anything beyond the restraining line of team-B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1