![]() |
|
|
|||
Here are the pertinent rules and why I feel so strongly about this.....
The end of Rule 5-2-1 states After a distance penalty, the ball belongs to the team in possession at the time of the foul unless it is a 2-16-2g (post-scrimmage kick) foul. PSK does not apply because this is a free kick. K put the ball in play, therefore, they have the option of replaying the (free kick) down following enforcement or of taking the results of the play. Rule 5-2-4 states: When a foul occurs prior to or during a free-kick down and before any change of team possession, the down which follows enforcement is a free-kick down, unless following a fair catch or an awarded fair catch, a scrimmage down is chosen for the replay. I am not disregarding 10-4-5d. I just don't believe it applies to a loose ball play. I believe the intent is to create a new basic spot for plays where B/R intercepts or recovers a fumble in A/K's end zone and they subsequently foul. Here is another play. 1st and ten on B's 5-yard line. A1 throws a pass and A2 interfers with B2. B3 intercepts the pass in the end zone and is downed in the end zone. Results of the play is a touchback. Enforce from the succeeding spot or not? If my interpretation is correct, I think the rule should be reworded because of a situation like this.
__________________
Mike Sears |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|