The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 28, 2005, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: I'm with ljudge agreeing that the case book is correct. There are basically two (2) types of errors that can be corrected: (1) errors in timing where you can go back one play and fix the timing error [see NF 3-4-6], and (2) errors that result from a misinterpretation or misapplication of a rule. This latter error must be corrected before the ball next becomes alive following the play in which the error occurred and prior to the ending of the period. [See NF 3-5-11] That means that once the referee holds the ball aloft at the end of the period, it's too late to correct any misapplication error occurring on the final play of the prior period. Now, between you and me, if I had spotted the ball incorrectly as described in the original post, and then ended the period, I would certainly fix it if brought to my attention before we switched ends of the field. Technically, I'd be wrong, but common sense should prevail IMHO.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1