The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
I realize if the pass is incomplete it would be spotted at the previous spot. I posed the question because to me, it relates directly as to where you spot the ball in the first scenario.

If we rule the pass to be incomplete, it is because there is no "catch" (by rule) on the play originally described until the receiver makes contact with the ground.

If there is no catch until he contacts the ground in the case of the incomplete pass.... it must also be ruled that there is no catch (in the original scenario) until the receiver touches the ground (A's 28 yard line).

Conversely, in the question I asked... if you rule a fumble, it is because it has been ruled that a legal "catch" has been made before the receiver touches the ground (which is not what is written in rule #2) and therefore in the original scenario, it would be logical to mark the ball at A's 30.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1