View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 08:33am
JasonTX JasonTX is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
An AR exists that is similar to this play for NCAA: Airbore A1 receives a legal forward pass one yard within the endzone. As A1 receives the ball, he is contacted by B1 and first comes to the ground with the catch at the one yard line where the ball is declared dead. Ruling: Touchdown

Under NCAA he still has to complete the catch by rule and the ball has to become dead by rule. At that point he then given the forward progress that was in the end zone. The contact in the end zone doesn't make the ball dead.
This rule applies regardless if it's at midfield or the end zone. If after the contact he isn't tackled then the ball is still live.
Reply With Quote