The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 10, 2005, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Opie - if the ball strikes the pylon on the front, it was already out of bounds when it did so. Only the smallest tip of the ball must cross the goalline, to answer your question directly, but the ball must not have been out of bounds before that. If it strikes the pylon on the front, it MUST have been out of bounds first, since the pylon is entirely out of bounds.

.....|
..P.|
___|______goalline________
.....|
.....|
.....o
.....o
.....b
.....|

P is the pylon. For the ball to hit the pylon on the front (bottom in this picture), it would have HAD to cross the OOB line first. Similarly, if it hits the pylon on the side (right side in this picture), it would have HAD to cross the goalline first. (periods used as spacers only)


[Edited by mcrowder on Jan 10th, 2005 at 03:20 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1