The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 09, 2004, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Under National Federation Rules:
Where is the ball put into play if a free kick after an awarded fair catch goes out of bounds untouched by R? At the spot where it goes out of bounds as in the case of a scrimmage kick? Or does R have the same options under the free kick rules-(35 yds from previous spot, spot of out of bounds, 5yds from previous spot and (re-kick) replay down)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 09, 2004, 09:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Thumbs up

Other than 25 (not 35) yds. from previous, why not?

See rule 6-1-8. A free-kick is a free-kick, only difference is that the kind you ask about can score a field goal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 09, 2004, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
I did get that crossed up...25 yds...thanks

The confusing part to me is that an attempted field goal is a scrimmage kick by definition...and after an awarded fair catch the kick becomes a free kick...so if it can score shouldn't it be treated as if it were a scrimmage kick after the attempt is made?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2004, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by GaBACKJUDGE
I did get that crossed up...25 yds...thanks

The confusing part to me is that an attempted field goal is a scrimmage kick by definition...and after an awarded fair catch the kick becomes a free kick...so if it can score shouldn't it be treated as if it were a scrimmage kick after the attempt is made?
Nope, the free kick after a faircatch is the exact same thing as a KICKOFF, only difference is that it can score.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2004, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by GaBACKJUDGE
The confusing part to me is that an attempted field goal is a scrimmage kick by definition...
No, it's not.

8-4-1a
The field-goal attempt shall be a place kick or a drop kick from scrimmage, OR from a free kick following a fair catch, or an awarded fair catch.

OR means it can be either.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2004, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
Had one Friday night. See the Fed board for the details.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2004, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 140
NF RULES: Is a team that makes a fair catch or is awarded a fair catch permitted to free kick with a punt? I know that they cannot score unless the free kick is a placekick or dropkick, but is it permissable? Rule reference, please.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2004, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
NF only: NO, the only a way to score 3 points from a free kick is via drop kick or place kick.
ref 8-4-1-a, but the definitions are the specific rules you want.. 2-23-6 and 2-23-7.
The PUNT is not one mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2004, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
After a fair catch or an awarded fair catch, R-A can do anything they want. They can run, pass, punt, place kick, drop kick, take a knee, run into their own EZ and give B a Safety.

If they run a pass play, and DPI is called; they get to do all over again, 15 yards closer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1