The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 149
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Warrenkicker
[B]Just had a meeting last night and the concensus was that 54 was True. It says:

If B1 tackles A1, who is obviously not the runner, it is defensive holding.

The rule reference I assume would be 9-2-3c.

I contend that 9-4-2b could also be a rules reference on this play and then make the question false. It states that a defensive player may not charge into or throw an opponent to the ground after he is obviously out of the play.


Warrenkicker,

I think you read too much into it. Look at the question it says "obviously not the runner". Your reference states "obviously out of the play." There is a distinct difference in those two statements. I interpret "obviously out of the play" to mean a player who is standing around watching the progress of the play after it has passed him by, whereas, obviously not the runner would mean that he is still running around the play but it not the one with the ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1