View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 11:09pm
SoGARef SoGARef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 149
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Warrenkicker
[B]Just had a meeting last night and the concensus was that 54 was True. It says:

If B1 tackles A1, who is obviously not the runner, it is defensive holding.

The rule reference I assume would be 9-2-3c.

I contend that 9-4-2b could also be a rules reference on this play and then make the question false. It states that a defensive player may not charge into or throw an opponent to the ground after he is obviously out of the play.


Warrenkicker,

I think you read too much into it. Look at the question it says "obviously not the runner". Your reference states "obviously out of the play." There is a distinct difference in those two statements. I interpret "obviously out of the play" to mean a player who is standing around watching the progress of the play after it has passed him by, whereas, obviously not the runner would mean that he is still running around the play but it not the one with the ball.
Reply With Quote