View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 25, 2004, 10:24pm
Warrenkicker Warrenkicker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Just had a meeting last night and the concensus was that 54 was True. It says:

If B1 tackles A1, who is obviously not the runner, it is defensive holding.

The rule reference I assume would be 9-2-3c.

I contend that 9-4-2b could also be a rules reference on this play and then make the question false. It states that a defensive player may not charge into or throw an opponent to the ground after he is obviously out of the play.

Say the QB hands off and as the play moves down field he backs away from the LOS watching his teammates. B1 then comes from his position and tackles him for some reason. That is a personal foul and not holding.

I know that if B1 tackles the pulling guard it is holding but what if B1 just takes a shot at the QB standing away from the play.

I know what the official answer for the test is and will answer it that way but it doesn't quite seem correct to me unless I am (once again) reading too much into the question.
Reply With Quote