The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 07, 2004, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Question

Can someone explain the explanation given in the Ruling section of NF Case Play 8.2.2 Situation B? It states that an offensive penalty downfield "while A1 is attempting a pass" would be administered from the spot of the foul if the pass were intercepted and the penalty accepted. In the case cited, it says that this would result in a safety.

This has to be incorrect...

The basic spot has to be the previous spot, and if the interception in the case had not resulted in a touchdown, you would be giving the captain a totally wrong choice if you offered him the play or a safety!

This case is marked with an asterisk, meaning that it is a new or revised case this year...I hope this is an explanation error that just slipped through the editing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 07, 2004, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to HOLDTHE Send a message via Yahoo to HOLDTHE
The play is correct. A's foul is behind the basic spot and would be enforced from the spot of the foul if B accepted the penalty (All but one). Since the spot of the foul is in the end zone it would be a safety.

B most likely would decline and take the TD.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 07, 2004, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
I see it now...thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1