The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 57
Question

sm_bbcoach:

Like I said before, I unfortunately don't have the rule book in front of me to look it up or quote and I may be misinformed but just so you know you're not getting my own personal interpretation...

My assertion that R must be in possession at the end of the play is taken from the Post Scrimmage Kick 2003 PowerPoint presentation provided by the NFHS and posted on their web site at:

http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...content_id=360

As far as I could determine, there are no changes in 2004 regarding PSK enforcement. Just clarification of the existing rules in 2-16-2g, 10-2-1b and 10-2-2.

I agree that if the Team R possession thing is not a factor then R should get the ball at the spot the ball was blown dead and the penalty enforced from there.

But, unless they "revised themselves" somewhere else along the line (or contradict themselves in other materials), this information provided by the NFHS states plainly that R must be in possession at the end of the play for a PSK situation to exist.

Maybe the NFHS isn't even clear on the rule.

-Sean---
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1