The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Greetings from Serbia (ex Yougoslavia)!

I have question about rules.

Here is situation:

Team A kicks ball (kick off) ball hits the ground inbound and then goes in end zone where is cought by KICKING team.

I think this is touchback, but I'm not sure. Help please.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
NCAA: Since the ball has not touched the ground in the EZ, it is not a touchback until that receiver takes a knee in the EZ. Live ball until then. If he decided to run it out, the clock would start when he crossed the plane of the goal line.

I am pretty sure NFL rules are the same. ie not a TB yet.

(I doubt you play football using NFHS rules, so I'll not even mention the ruling for that code.)

#### OUCH!!!! my bad! My eyes saw you wrote kicking team, my brain said you wrote receiving team.
That must have been one heck of a fast kicking team player.
Regardless, as TXMike states.. TD for Team-A.

I hope you are not going to tell us this really happened?

[Edited by Theisey on Jan 12th, 2004 at 08:02 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
I didn't understand you, lets add, runner of kicking team catch ball in end zone and goes out of bounds. what happen next, where is ball is it tochdown, touchback.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
If the KICKING team player gets possession of the ball, it is a TD. Once he has possession, ball is dead, so does not matter if he goes out of bounds after that. It is already a TD.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
NFHS: Touchback, anytime a kick enters R's endzone it is a touchback. Make sure to look up definition of when a kick ends too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by TXMike
If the KICKING team player gets possession of the ball, it is a TD. Once he has possession, ball is dead, so does not matter if he goes out of bounds after that. It is already a TD.
Under NFHS rules nether K or R could actually catch a kick in R’s end zone, as all legal kicks are dead as soon as the ball brakes the plane of the goal line. Also under Fed rules K is restricted from catching a free kick anywhere on the field unless it’s first touched by R (even with no R player in the vicinity). Am I right in assuming that under NCAA rules K isn't restricted from catching a free kick seeing as how you’ve ruled a TD?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
That's correct Jim. According to NCAA rules, Team A can legally touch a free kick once:
(a) the ball touches a Team B player, or
(b) the kick breaks the plane of B's restraining line and remains there, or
(c) the kick touches any player, official, the ground, or anything beyond Team B's restraining line.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 12:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Like I said:

Ball hits the ground inbound (becomes live-ball) and then goes in EZ where is cought by K's.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 01:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
This is still a touchback in NFHS. Once a kick crosses R's endzone plane it is a touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 05:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey

#### OUCH!!!! my bad! My eyes saw you wrote kicking team, my brain said you wrote receiving team.
That must have been one heck of a fast kicking team player.
Regardless, as TXMike states.. TD for Team-A.

I hope you are not going to tell us this really happened?

[Edited by Theisey on Jan 12th, 2004 at 08:02 AM]
Yes, it happend in 4th american footbal* game in serbian history, we still don't have league but only friendly matches. That match was played on NFL rules, now we are playing on NCAA rules but without any equipment (no helmets,etc).

*
€ American Football - $ Football
€ Football - $ Soccer

About sitution that I explained earlier, Your thoughts are separeted. Someone thinks TD, others TB, what's right?

P.S.
Sory about my bad english
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by acasto


Yes, it happend in 4th american footbal* game in serbian history, we still don't have league but only friendly matches. That match was played on NFL rules, now we are playing on NCAA rules but without any equipment (no helmets,etc).

*
€ American Football - $ Football
€ Football - $ Soccer

About sitution that I explained earlier, Your thoughts are separeted. Someone thinks TD, others TB, what's right?

P.S.
Sory about my bad english
As you can see, we play football by different sets of rules, and the answer to your question is different depending on the level of play.

You are playing by NCAA rules. Your answer: Touchdown
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1