The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 16, 2003, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Re: The final result of the play is the key.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Simonds
I don't agree with you. The final result of the play is the determining factor. If you read rule 10-4-5-d, the spot of enforcement would be B's 20 (the succeeding spot) if the final result of the play was a touchback. In this case the final result of the play was not a touchback.

That is why you must ask yourself this question: What would happen if B declines A's foul? The final result of the play would be A's ball first and goal at B's 2 yard line.

Therefore, if B accepts A's foul, you must apply rule 10-5-2. The end of B's run is in B's end zone, and there was a foul by A during the down prior to a change of possession (A's recovery of the fumble).
Mike,
I agree 10-4-5d can not apply because the play did not result in a touchback. And while I agree 10-5-2 is the most equitable spot, it can not apply for the same reason. The play would not result in a safety either. Under the current rules, the only enforcement I see is 10-4-4 where the end of the run is the loose ball spot (10-3-3b). 10-3-3a does not apply because the runner was not in possession.

I know I am going to catch the rath of Bob for saying this - but the casebook Page 82 *10.4.5 Sit H supports this idea.

This begs the next "WHAT IF" - B looses possession 7 yards deep in the EZ - the loose ball rolls OB at the 2 - A commits a 5 yard facemask. Would this result in a touchback?

All of that said, I do not feel there is a rule written that adequately addresses this situation! And agree with Bob, the interpretation does not completely address it either.

EDITORIAL: I think Rule 10-5-2 should be changed to read "... or if the loose ball spot is the end zone and the play does not result in a touchback."

[Edited by dumbref on Nov 16th, 2003 at 06:31 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1