Thread: Case book play
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2003, 02:32pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Re: The final result of the play is the key.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Simonds
I don't agree with you. The final result of the play is the determining factor. If you read rule 10-4-5-d, the spot of enforcement would be B's 20 (the succeeding spot) if the final result of the play was a touchback. In this case the final result of the play was not a touchback.

That is why you must ask yourself this question: What would happen if B declines A's foul? The final result of the play would be A's ball first and goal at B's 2 yard line.

Therefore, if B accepts A's foul, you must apply rule 10-5-2. The end of B's run is in B's end zone, and there was a foul by A during the down prior to a change of possession (A's recovery of the fumble).
REPLY: I agree with you Mike...and I'll take it one step further. Even if you wanted to say the final result is a TB, you'd still be faced with the consequences. NF 10-4-5 says that when the final result is a TB, the basic spot is the succeeding spot. It doesn't say that the basic spot is B's 20. So...where exactly is the succeeding spot? Using 2-40-10, it's "...where the ball would next be snapped or free kicked if a foul had not occurred." And where is that? It's at B's 2, correct?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote