Thread: Case book play
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2003, 04:06pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by seanireland
Hey guys does this fit in this situation?

10.5.2 Situation B: B1 intercepts A1's pass at B's 6 yard line. He reverses his field back through his end zone where he is grabbed by the face mask/helmet opening and fumbles the ball out of bounds at B's 3 yard line.
RULING: The basic spot is the goal line. It would be B's ball, first an 10, at B's 15 yard line.
COMMENT: Any loose ball that occurs after a run ends in the end zone is ignored in determining the basic spot for penalty enforcement.
REPLY: This play is covered specifically by NF 10-5-2. Since B reversed his field and ends up back in the end zone, his run is the force that put the ball there. So, the result of the play would be a safety and 10-5-2 applies. However, I have absolutely no idea how the comment relates to the play (?!?!) This is unlike the original play posted where the result of the play is a ball in B's possession rolling OOB at B's 2 (not a safety).
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote