The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2021, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
6-3-6-a. The ball is dead when a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone is caught or recovered by A.

NFL is like NFHS. If the ball comes back behind the line, A can still advance the ball. If the ball was touched by B, they get a new series. If the ball was not touched by B, it is the same series and they must reach the line to gain to maintain possession.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 04, 2021, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Legacy and Robert are right: under no circumstances can Team A advance a recovered KICK, unless it hasn't crossed the neutral zone. A new series of downs would attach, thus, Team A, first and 10 at the spot of recovery. (NCAA).

However, change the play just a little: what happens (Fed or NCAA) IF the ball goes out of Team A's end zone?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 04, 2021, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
Legacy and Robert are right: under no circumstances can Team A advance a recovered KICK, unless it hasn't crossed the neutral zone. A new series of downs would attach, thus, Team A, first and 10 at the spot of recovery. (NCAA).

However, change the play just a little: what happens (Fed or NCAA) IF the ball goes out of Team A's end zone?
Out as in out of bounds?

If the muff by the receiving team player is of the kick in flight, then in both Fed and NCAA, responsibility for the ball's being in the end zone is on the kick, i.e. team A, so you'd get a safety.

If the kick touches the ground before being muffed, then there's a difference between Fed and NCAA, because in Fed that muff would usually have altered responsibility by the muffer's applying new force. I could, however, see cases in which the ball would've been bouncing towards A's goal line from the field of play, and the muff by R being ruled not to apply new force.

In NCAA the kick would have to come to rest before the receiving player could be ruled to apply new force to it.

So whether it's a safety or touchback could depend on factors not specified in the question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muff jeremy24175 Football 11 Wed Sep 05, 2007 04:31pm
Muff Pt. 2 FredFan7 Football 8 Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:16pm
Muff Pt. 1 FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Dec 08, 2003 01:23pm
K advancing a muff Schultj Football 7 Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1