The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2021, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
NFHS Question

Team A scores and makes the extra point. They line up for the kickoff. The kick is not fielded and hits on B's 20 yard line. The ball bounces toward the sideline and the wing official throws a flag and blows his whistle. The ball never did go out of bounds. Team A insisted it was their ball at the spot the ball was when the whistled sounded. They said they had 2 options to take the ball at the spot of the whistle or kick over. The referee said the only option was to kick over. What is the correct rule?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 28, 2021, 09:09pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
NFHS Question

Replay the down. No option. Neither team was ever in posession during the down.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 08:06am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,631
K had team posession, no player had possession.

Team A was wrong.

4-2- ART. 3 . . . An inadvertent whistle ends the down. Inadvertent whistles
are administered as follows:

a. The down shall be replayed if, during a down or during a down in
which the penalty for a foul is declined, an inadvertent whistle is
sounded while a legal forward pass or snap is in flight, or during a
legal kick.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 08:14am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
K had team posession, no player had possession.



Team A was wrong.



4-2- ART. 3 . . . An inadvertent whistle ends the down. Inadvertent whistles

are administered as follows:



a. The down shall be replayed if, during a down or during a down in

which the penalty for a foul is declined, an inadvertent whistle is

sounded while a legal forward pass or snap is in flight, or during a

legal kick.


Blowing an IW is horrible on a kick as it leaves the crew no choice. It's one thing I drill into new deeps, who feel they need to "protect" the R player catching the ball, especially on a fair catch. The rules protect R.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 12:31pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,631
My first ever was in a JV game on a punt that was shanked short to my side and the DB give a FC signal. I was too intent on giving him protection and blew it as the ball continued to slide on down his chest to the ground.

The guys got a hoot out of watching my head motion indicating I said "Oh $#!T"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Question benbret Basketball 9 Tue Nov 12, 2019 09:31am
NFHS Question benbret Football 1 Sun Nov 12, 2017 02:10pm
NFHS Question Skahtboi Softball 8 Thu Oct 13, 2011 08:38am
Question NFHS 46 agr8zebra Basketball 5 Fri Oct 31, 2008 05:56pm
NFHS question 55 IHSAref Basketball 4 Tue Oct 31, 2006 09:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1