The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2020, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juxone View Post
I think you may be correct, the part of the statement "in each case" is the troubling part. Maybe I am just being pednatic -- the Redding example-- is on point.
Could it be an editing error? Like if it was lifted from a context where 2 or more cases were presented. and it happened to be correct in each of those cases? Like they expected "each case" to reference not every possible case, but each of certain specified cases?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 08, 2020, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 29
Unsure..

I think it is just one of those things that where it was more a "stump the chump" rather than a teaching point.

Last edited by Juxone; Thu Oct 08, 2020 at 11:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 08, 2020, 12:00pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
Based on the question this is technically not true.
How so?

9-3-7 No member of the kicking team shall initiate contact to(block) an opponent on a free kick until:

a. The legal kick has traveled 10 yards;- Ball is at the 48

b. The kicking team is eligible to recover a free-kicked ball; Ball has travelled 8 yards and has not been touched by R
or
c. The receiving team initiates a block within the neutral zone. "where team R player steps into the neutral zone to recover the kick." No mention of R blocking here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2020, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 29
missed a word maybe?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
How so?

9-3-7 No member of the kicking team shall initiate contact to(block) an opponent on a free kick until:

a. The legal kick has traveled 10 yards;- Ball is at the 48

b. The kicking team is eligible to recover a free-kicked ball; Ball has travelled 8 yards and has not been touched by R
or
c. The receiving team initiates a block within the neutral zone. "where team R player steps into the neutral zone to recover the kick." No mention of R blocking here.
I guess I missed the word "may" have. Since R does have the option of having the ball kicked or taking the yardage from the spot of the foul Or haveing the yardage assessed where it gain possession? Correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incorrect URL bob jenkins Feedback 2 Tue Jan 13, 2015 09:59pm
Correct or incorrect. If incorrect is this correctable? rawhi1 Basketball 16 Sat Jan 26, 2013 02:50am
Incorrect travel tref Basketball 79 Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:40am
Politically incorrect? Mark Padgett Basketball 28 Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1