| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Illegal Shift Question
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			First off...Im a long time baseball guy who is a few years into football and enjoying the challenge and experience of football. 
 
Had a situation pop up the other day regarding a shift and was looking for some clarification.  In my mind, the rule and case book and the Reddings NFHS study guide are leaving me a bit confused.  My questions are about the definition of an "interior lineman" and if a lineman/player puts one hand on the ground. 
 
I am under the understanding that interior lineman can shift if they have not placed a hand on the ground (i.e. in a 3 point stance).  Am I correct to think of the definition of an "interior lineman" as the two guards each next to the center or would this definition also apply to tackles and/or a tight end who is not on the end of their part of the line?  
 
Lets say on one side of the line next to the Center is a Guard, Tackle, and a Wide Receiver who is on the line. Can that tackle and guard shift legally? 
 
Is any player on the line who goes into a stance with one or both hands on the ground ineligible to shift and if they do, it is an illegal shift? 
 
If I am missing anything else feel free to chime in, all help is much appreciated.  Thanks!
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |