![]() |
|
|
|||
2-32 Player Designations defines a lineman and a snapper. You will note Rule 2 doesn't define an end. An end is still a lineman but on the end of his line.
2-39 defines a shift. 7-1-7c tells us what "a player on his line between the snapper an a player on the end of his line" may do. After that particular player has placed his hand(s) on or near the ground, he can not move it and thus can not shift. In your scenario of : C G T WR G & T may not shift once they've placed their hand on or near the ground. It would be a false start. The snapper (C), can't shift because he's locked in once he places a hand on the ball. A G &/or T shift would have to be made in such a way that they do not simulate action at the snap. |
|
|||
To make it simple:
Any player may shift unless he is an interior lineman who has put one or both hands on or near the ground. Any shift must be done in a manner that does not simulate the start of a play. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
WR - false start vs. illegal motion vs. illegal shift | stegenref | Football | 25 | Sat Oct 02, 2010 09:21pm |
Illegal shift? | johnny1784 | Football | 11 | Tue Sep 28, 2010 01:35pm |
illegal shift or illegal motion | verticalStripes | Football | 20 | Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:34pm |
Illegal shift question | Smiley | Football | 9 | Thu Oct 05, 2006 08:22pm |
Illegal Motion or Illegal Shift | Simbio | Football | 11 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 08:50pm |