The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2003, 10:11am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Cool More info


Of course it is an exception, Theisey, the entire PSK ruling is an exception to the Team Possession Rule 2-32-2.

1) R has "technically" recieved the football with "Clean Hands" when the kicked ball crosses the expanded neutral zone. But, as we all know they are allowed to keep the football even though they foul without "physically" possessing the football. We call this PSK!
2) Rule 2-32-2 Says....A live ball is always in "Team possession"
3) Therefore, one would summise that team possession changes from K to R when the kicked ball crosses the expanded neutral zone free of an R foul.
4) Additionally NFHS SITUATION 13 (Revised) has finally been corrected to eliminate an (assumed) automatic double foul when K fouls at any time and R comits any PSK foul, since R "technically" recieved the ball with "Clean Hands". If then, R "technically" recieved the ball with "Clean Hands" then they must also be "technically" in "Team Possession!" Otherwise we wouldn't allow them to keep the ball!
5) Further, I assume the NFHS will either modify the wording in 2-32-2 or add a new rule (2-32-3?) that will specifically address this issue. Most likely it will be worded similar to Football Fundamentals I. 3.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1